You are here

Review: Darkest Hour, 'Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora'

Review: Darkest Hour, 'Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora'
Over 20 years in, melodic death metal group Darkest Hour are still stomping necks. Godless Prophets is as driven and vicious as anything the band has released with disembowlers like “This Is the Truth” and “Those Who Survived” roaring forth with all the galloping mosh parts and anguished melodic breakdowns that lesser bands have bitten off for years. Frontman John Henry’s reptilian howl sounds even scarier than it did albums ago, and guitarist Mike Schleibaum peppers unsettling trills between bangeriffic riffs. As enjoyable as it is punishing, this record further cements DC’s finest as a band not to be fucked with. CHRIS KROVATIN
Check out "Knife in the Safe Room" from 'Godless Prophets & The Migrant Flora.'

Album Review: Six Feet Under, 'Torment'