Review: Fleshgod Apocalypse – Agony



For many years, Italy has been of questionable metal cred. Though they produce big-name goth-rock acts (Lacuna Coil), baroque power-metal wizards (Rhapsody), and the occasional filthy underdweller (Necrodeath), Italy has never yielded a truly brilliant extreme-metal band—until now. Fleshgod Apocalypse create crushing brutal death metal laced with sweeping orchestrals and pained wailing vocals, and Agony, their new full-length and the follow-up to their critically-acclaimed Mafia EP, is a total triumph for this young band.

Most notable is Fleshgod Apocalypse’s ability to weave chuggy riffage and tireless blast beats with epic orchestral passages, resulting in a tapestry of romantic brutality. Opener “Temptation” creeps into an eerie crescendo before crashing straight into “The Hypocrisy,” a whirlwind of death-metal technicality and free-wheeling piano straight out of the Behemoth-based opera of your nightmares (it should be noted that amongst the band’s roster is pianist Francesco Ferrini). Tracks like “The Imposition” and “The Violation” juxtapose the band’s throttling aggression with its larger-than-life symphonics, while “The Egoism” and “The Betrayal” conjoin sorrowful solos with cinematic string-work to paint emotional landscapes that rival most sunsets.

The only issue throughout is the clear vocals—at times the wild cries on many of the songs sound strained beyond their reach, and tech-death fans may find it hard to swallow the operatic vibrato on “The Egoism”—but even these hearken back to ICS Vortex-era Dimmu Borgir in a way that will charm many listeners. Overall, the album is far more engaging and fierce than almost anything to come out of the underground this year, making the Fleshgod Apocalypse, and Italy’s metal scene, a force to be reckoned with. Ah, sweet Agony. CHRIS KROVATIN

Check out “The Volation” off Agony below:

  • Haileylackey

    you know the video isnt working right?

  • slapyomama

    But Italy also produced Blasphemer, and Hour of Penance! What about them?!

    • Me

      Hour of Penance ok… Great Band and Great Musician… but Blasphemer… the typical product of useless italian underground full of Ivy and narrow minded people. 

  • Blarg

    You can’t forget Drastique and Stormlord in the Italian extreme metal category… Stormlord is, in my opinion, many, many years beyond Fleshgod Apocalypse in melody. Fleshgod Apocalypse may be in the top three list for Italian extreme metal, but so far, no Italian band comes close to Stormlord.

  • Rizaldybasilio

    your heavy we rock

  • Rizaldybasilio

    your heavy we rock