You are here

Devil Recording Debut Album

Norwegian doom rockers Devil are currently in the studio recording their debut LP, Time to Repent, for a late 2011 release through the Dutch label Soulseller Records.

"I must say it sounds pretty damn vintage, and those not afraid of Devilish catchy tunes, are in for a treat," says guitarist Stian Fossum. "Ranging from hard rock to heavy metal, and even with a very good, if we can say so, ballad, we feel that the diversity and quality of the album is really up there. It's still not for feinschmeckers or proggers, but we're a hard rock 'n' roll band, and fans of Pentagram, Black Sabbath and NWOBHM will still be our main audience. We haven't timed the album yet, but it will clock in somewhere around 40 minutes. The next few days we'll be doing vocals and stuff, and hopefully the mixing and mastering process will start in a couple of weeks."

The band—which also includes Ronny Østli on drums, Thomas Ljosaak on bass, Kai Wanderås on second guitar and Joakim Trangsrud on vocals—will release a new seven-inch with two new tracks—"The Noble Savage" and "Blood is Boiling"—via Soulseller Records and can now be pre-ordered at this location. Read our feature on the band and their debut demo here.

Time To Repent track listing:

01. The Welcome (intro)
02. Break The Curse
03. Blood is Boiling
04. Time to Repent
05. Crazy Woman
06. Open Casket
07. Death of a Sorcerer
08. Howling (at the World)
09. At the Blacksmith's
10. Outro

Exclusive Premiere: Eyes Set to Kill's New Song, "The Secrets Between"