You are here

Ministry Reveal Cover Art for New Album and Release Date for First New Original Song in Four Years, “99 Percenters”

Ministry Reveal Cover Art for New Album and Release Date for First New Original Song in Four Years, “99 Percenters”

In support of the “occupy movement,” Ministry will release the new song “99 Percenters” on iTunes on Dec. 23 and stream the track on their Facebook site starting Christmas day.

The song, which comes from the band’s upcoming album, Relapse (out March 23; see cover art below), is a rally cry for all of the protesters that have gathered across the country to demonstrate against corporate greed, cutthoat capitalism, and the one percent of Americans who earn millions of dollars a year, but receive substantial tax cuts on their income. Frontman Al Jourgensen said the chorus for the track, “1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 99 percent” was inspired by Country Joe and the Fish’s Vietnam protest song “I Feel Like I’m Fixin’ to Die Rag.”

“Putting out this song is the least I could do,” Jourgensen told Revolver. “We wanted to fly to New York and protest and get arrested and pepper sprayed. But we can’t do it because I got a Christmas deadline on this album. But I’m with 'em in spirit so the least I could do is give them a chant-along song. I’m going, Hey man, here’s your song. All you gotta do is chant the chorus.”

In addition to “99 Percenters,” Relapse will feature the song “Get Up, Get Out and Vote.” Jourgensen plans to actively campaign for Democrats in Texas next year and encourages his fans to put more Democrats in Congress and the Senate and keep President Obama in office, despite his seeming willingness to compromise with the one percenters.

“This is going to be a brutal political season,” Jourgensen says. “The Republicans are gearing up for a fight because they got nothing. What do they got? Newt Gingrich or Mitt Romney? It’s like a fuckin’ circus of clowns, but they have money behind them and money talks. So Obama’s gotta settle down the one percenters and get his money. I don’t fault him for that. I really feel strongly in my heart that the guy is for the people. But it’s gonna be like a war, dude. Football doesn’t even compare to the violence that’s gonna be coming up this next election.”

Relapse will be the first Ministry album of original material since 2007’s The Last Sucker and features songs written and performed by Jourgensen, guitarists Tommy Victor (Prong), and Mike Scaccia (ex-Rigor Mortis, Lard), and bassists Tony Campos (Static-X) and Casey Orr (ex-GWAR). Drummer Aaron Rossi will join the band on tour.

Ministry have booked five dates in the U.S. to support Relapse, starting June 17 in Denver, Colorado and ending June 29 with the second of two nights in Chicago, Jourgensen’s former hometown. Dates for the band’s European DefibrillaTour will be announced in January.

Photos: DimeBash, featuring Members of Alice in Chains, Black Sabbath, System of a Down, Anthrax, and more!