You are here

William Shatner To Receive Honorary Headbanger Award At Revolver Golden Gods

William Shatner To Receive Honorary Headbanger Award At Revolver Golden Gods

Legendary actor, recording artist and author WILLIAM SHATNER will be presented with the Honorary Headbanger Award at the third annual REVOLVER GOLDEN GODS AWARD SHOW presented by Epiphone® on Wednesday, April 20, at Club Nokia in Downtown Los Angeles. Revered for his role as Captain James T. Kirk on Star Trek, Shatner will be on-hand to accept his award, an honor Revolver magazine bestows each year to someone who has made their name outside of the metal world but still embodies its spirit. Later this year, Shatner will officially prove the latter with his new album, Seeking Major Tom (Cleopatra), which features collaborations with hard-rock musicians including Ritchie Blackmore and Ian Paice of Deep Purple, and, on a cover of Black Sabbath’s “Iron Man,” Zakk Wylde of Black Label Society and Mike Inez of Alice in Chains.

“Short of receiving an Emmy for my superb voice, the Honorary Headbanger Award is the next best thing. Praise be you won’t hear me sing.” – William Shatner

In other exciting news, CHERIE CURRIE of The Runaways will make a special guest appearance, performing with the Elvis Presley- and Johnny Cash-inspired metal group VOLBEAT, while MAX CAVALERA of Sepultura, Soulfly, and Cavalera Conspiracy will join Hatebreed’s JAMEY JASTA and DEVILDRIVER in their salute to the hardcore legends Black Flag.

Meanwhile, on the “Black Carpet”—Revolver’s version of the traditional Red Carpet—Sebastian Bach will host the pre-awards-show festivities for RevolverTV’s “Black Carpet Special.” Furthermore, Marcus Henderson--the man responsible for writing Guitar Hero’s epic riffs—will be hosting Epiphone’s Black Carpet coverage. In addition, Jamey Jasta will serve as celebrity DJ for evening.

Additional performances for the show include THE ALICE COOPER GROUP (in their first L.A. appearance in nearly 40 years), LOADED (featuring Duff McKagan of GUNS N’ ROSES and VELVET REVOLVER fame), award-show host CHRIS JERICHO’s band FOZZY and fast-rising metalcore outfit ASKING ALEXANDRIA, who will be joined by SEBASTIAN BACH on the Skid Row favorite “Youth Gone Wild.” The night will close out with a blistering set by AVENGED SEVENFOLD. The event will be televised on VH1 Classic on Saturday, May 28, but for those who want to witness this epic show in person, tickets can be purchased via Ticketmaster here.

The 2011 REVOLVER GOLDEN GODS AWARDS presented by Epiphone will include appearances from rock’s most iconic and influential artists, as well as rising stars, including: host Chris Jericho, Rob Zombie, Dave Navarro, Vinnie Paul, Taylor Momsen, Wayne Static, Mike Portnoy, and members of Alice in Chains, Five Finger Death Punch, Dethklok, Megadeth, Anthrax, Fear Factory, Machine Head and many more.

In addition to the Honorary Headbanger Award, other special honors for the night include the “Golden God Award”--given to one musician each year who personifies all that is hard rock and metal—which will go to shock-rock godfather Alice Cooper, who is celebrating the reunion of the original ALICE COOPER GROUP and his recent induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Also, this year’s recipient of the first-ever “Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award”—renamed in honor of the late, great 2010 Best Vocalist Award winner—is none other than the Sunset Strip’s most iconic band, MÖTLEY CRÜE.

The winners in all the other award categories will be chosen by the people, but time is running out. Fans can vote now through Friday, April 1, when voting ends, right here. The full list of nominees is:

Epiphone® Best Guitarist(s)
• John 5 (for his work with Rob Zombie)
• Dan Donegan (Disturbed)
• Gus G. (for his work with Ozzy Osbourne)
• Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance (Avenged Sevenfold)
• Janick Gers, Dave Murray and Adrian Smith (Iron Maiden)
• Alexi Laiho (Children of Bodom)

Drum Workshop® Best Drummer
• Tommy Clufetos (Ozzy Osbourne)
• Abe Cunningham (Deftones)
• Joey Jordison (for his work with Rob Zombie)
• Roy Mayorga (Stone Sour)
• Nicko McBrain (Iron Maiden)
• Mike Portnoy (for his work with Avenged Sevenfold)

Best Vocalist
• Glenn Danzig (Danzig)
• Bruce Dickinson (Iron Maiden)
• Chino Moreno (Deftones)
• Ozzy Osbourne (Ozzy Osbourne)
• M. Shadows (Avenged Sevenfold)
• Corey Taylor (for his work with Stone Sour)

Affliction® Album of the Year
Avenged Sevenfold, Nightmare
Black Label Society, Order of the Black
Deftones, Diamond Eyes
Ozzy Osbourne, Scream
Stone Sour, Audio Secrecy
Volbeat, Beyond Hell/Above Heaven

Samson/Zoom® Best Live Band
• Avenged Sevenfold
• Gwar
• Iron Maiden
• Megadeth
• Rammstein
• Sevendust

Most Metal Athlete
• Chris Cole (pro skateboarding)
• Dan Hardy (MMA fighting)
• Toni Lydman (NHL hockey)
• The Miz (WWE wrestling)
• Jeremy Shockey (NFL football)
• Mike Vallely (pro skateboarding)

Best New Band
Asking Alexandria
• Black Veil Brides
• The Damned Things
• The Pretty Reckless
• Times of Grace
• We Are the Fallen

Eagle Rock® Comeback of the Year
• Accept
• Faith No More
• Murderdolls
• A Perfect Circle
• Soundgarden
• System of a Down

Alice Cooper And Lady Gaga Do the Monster Mash