Review: Chelsea Grin – Evolve EP



Utah deathcore quintet Chelsea Grin blends technicality, melody, and a heaping scoop of breakdown-fueled brutality on their new EP, Evolve. With the addition of former Born of Osiris guitarist Jason Richardson, the band puts its technical chops on greater display, crafting sweeping riffs reminiscent of Richardson’s former group. There is also greater emphasis on melody on this EP, with plenty of eerie orchestral effects throughout. The band doesn’t rely so heavily on one-dimensional breakdowns, and standout tracks like “S.H.O.T.” and “The Second Coming” reveal how much Chelsea Grin has matured since their last full-length, My Damnation. Living up to its title, Evolve will definitely please fans and probably surprise others who are bored with deathcore. DAVID MCKENNA

Check out a preview of Evolve below:

  • CelestialOceans

    you’re awful. this is fucking terrible 

  • Pyroz_rule

    You guys gave Find Your Worth, Come Home a 3.5 and you give thispiece of shit a fucking 4? What the fuck is wrong with this website.

  • sylumsix

    yeah this is ball sack 

  • tobi

    terrible review.. terrible terrible soft shit

  • F***everything

    shut the fuck up people . these guys are more musically talented then you people will ever be

  • Afonso Ribeiro

    Do something different… and people will be stupid enough to deem you sellouts. It’s called evolution, for fuck’s sake.