6 Best New Songs Right Now: 7/24/20 | Revolver

6 Best New Songs Right Now: 7/24/20

Gulch, Chelsea Grin, Be Well and more

Here at Revolver, we're always on the hunt for new songs to bang our heads to — indeed, it's a big part of our jobs. With that in mind, here are the tracks released this week in metal, hard rock and hardcore that have been on heavy rotation at Revolver HQ. For your listening pleasure, we've also compiled the songs in a Spotify playlist, which will grow each week.

Gulch - "Fucking Towards Salvation"
"The word Gulch stood out to me because it just sounded so nasty off the tongue," guitarist Cole Kakimoto has said of his band's name. "It's a guttural sounding word and just sounds gross, which is what I wanted the music to sound like." The Santa Cruz hardcore crew pull off that goal with aplomb on their unrepentantly abrasive new album, Impenetrable Cerebral Fortress, smashing together crossover hardcore with a slew of other aggro styles. Indeed, on buzzsawing standout "Fucking Towards Salvation," they groove and snarl like Darkthrone.

Chelsea Grin - "Bleeding Sun"
Deathcore sits somewhere in the netherworld between real genius and atrociously bad — but when it's good, it fucking slays. Salt Lake City-based subgenre mainstays Chelsea Grin hit that target with brand-new track "Bleeding Sun." Seemingly coming out of nowhere, it's an absolute crusher packed with punishing gutturals and squealing, scrapping riffs. The band's first new song since their 2018 album, Eternal Nightmare, it's got us looking forward to wherever this is going. Give us all the breakdowns you got.

Napalm Death - "Backlash Just Because"
U.K. grind experts Napalm Death are about to release their 16th album, Throes of Joy in the Jaws of Defeatism, never mind that they've been doing this for 40 fucking years. While most bands would have let up on the gas pedal, Napalm never have, either sonically or thematically (just take a peek at the new album cover). From Throes comes the ripping, noisy "Backlash Just Because," which vocalist Mark "Barney" Greenway described as both "a real barkfest" and "lovely." And you know what? He's not wrong.

The Acacia Strain - "Crippling Poison"
We've lauded every single song released thus far for Slow Decay, the Acacia Strain's new, eighth full-length, which collects all the stunning, suffocating tracks from the New England metallic hardcore band's 7-inch and digital single drops between February 28th and June 12th. "Crippling Poison," one of the two previously unreleased songs on the LP, is no less staggering than the rest and helps make Slow Decay a serious contender for album of the year.

Be Well - "Morning Light"
The band may be new, but it's full of hardcore and metal veterans. Fronted by prolific record producer Brian McTernan, Be Well also include Darkest Hour's Mike Schleibaum and Fairweather's Peter Tsouras on guitars, Bane and ex-Converge bassist Aaron Dalbec and, on drums, Fairweather's Shane Johnson. Together they amount to a sound that's emotional and barreling. "Morning Light" urgently reflects on past failures and personal relationships: "I'll fuck it up/I'll swing and miss/I'll look alive and struggle to see it/I ruin relationships, so don't cast your lot with a sinking ship."

Jesse Draxler, Chelsea Wolfe, & Ben Chisholm - "Valerian"
For his collaborative audiovisual project Reigning Cement, heavy-music-aligned fine artist Jesse Draxler challenged 20-plus musicians, including Chelsea Wolfe, Greg Puciato (Dillinger Escape Plan, the Black Queen), Dylan Walker (Full of Hell) and Eric Ghoste (Ghostemane), to create "sound collages/songs" using only 34 sonic assets he supplied, with one exception: that they could add vocals if desired. Wolfe did so for her contribution, "Valerian" a hypnotic, experimental and more than a little creepy crawl through a gauzy, industrial dreamscape.