8 Best New Songs Right Now: 7/22/22 | Revolver

8 Best New Songs Right Now: 7/22/22

Recapping a massive week in heavy music
dead cross 2022 threeoneg PROMO, Becky DiGiglio
Dead Cross, 2022
photograph by Becky DiGiglio

Here at Revolver, we're always on the hunt for new songs to bang our heads to — indeed, it's a big part of our jobs. With that in mind, here are the tracks released this week in post-metal, metalcore, hardcore and more that have been on heavy rotation at Revolver HQ. For your listening pleasure, we've also compiled the songs in an ever-evolving Spotify playlist.

Slipknot - "The Dying Song (Time to Sing)"

Slipknot's latest employs every tool in the classic 'Knot tool kit to create a tense, claustrophobic atmosphere sliced through with Corey Taylor's searing vocal performance and staccato rhythms that hit as hard as anything they've made in the last two decades. The harmonic acappella intro followed by the chant "Die! Die! Die!" is a nice touch, too, and will certainly have fans pumping their fists and screaming along when the Nine start touring in support of upcoming LP, THE END, SO FAR.

Ozzy Osbourne - "Degradation Rules" ft. Tony Iommi

A half-century of artistic chemistry comes to life for two of metal's favorite geezers (though no Geezer here, sadly) on the slow-burn doom of "Degradation Rules." Iommi's razor riffing is sharp as ever, and Ozzy's vocals are clear, powerful and commanding throughout the four-minute meditation on masturbation. Ozzy's upcoming star-studded album, Patient Number 9, features guest turns by famous friends like Josh Homme, Zakk Wylde and the late Taylor Hawkins, but Sabbath devotees will surely love this tune (and Iommi's other song, "No Escape From Now") above all others.

Megadeth - "Night Stalkers" ft. Ice-T

If you went into this track blind, you'd likely think, "Ah, sick. Another Megadeth banger!" And you'd be right — it's a scorching speed-metal ripper featuring Dave Mustaine's signature snarl, wailing guitar leads and non-stop intensity, but the real fun kicks in when Ice-T jumps on the track to deliver a half-rapped, half-spoken-word verse that adds "credibility," says Mustaine, as the west coast OG was a ranger in the army and the track's lyrics focus on a black-ops battalion.

Dead Cross - "Reign of Error"

If anyone can use a manic thrash-metal song and animated video to tell the U.S. Supreme Court to fuck off in spectacularly weird style, it's Mike Patton. His four-man maniac crew Dead Cross — also featuring erstwhile Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo — creates sonic mayhem with their latest single, "Reign of Error," a vicious punk-rock blitz that clocks in at just 1:45. That's all they need to get the point across, though, especially with the visual punch of cartoon versions of the band members beheading and slicing political figureheads throughout the video.

Sumerlands – "Dreamkiller"

Trad-metal true believers are going to feast well on the old-school vibes of Sumerlands' latest, "Dreamkiller." Soaring guitar solos and harmonies intersperse with chug-a-lug verses and vocal wails (courtesy of new singer Brendan Radigan) that would make Dio proud. Drawing on influences like Foreigner, Dokken and the Scorpions, the group — featuring coveted producer Arthur Rizk on guitar — distinguish themselves with a unique brand of galloping, good-time heavy metal.

Ithaca - "The Future Says Thank You"

Revolver faves Ithaca sharpen their dynamic and captivating brand of U.K. metalcore with fiery single "The Future Says Thank You." Showcasing both singer Djamila Boden Azzouz's impressive melodic singing and terrifying murder-scream, the song floats along in an equally leaden and weightless manner. And with lyrics like "I've got milk in my veins/I speak the language of the gods," it's pure, putrid poetry.

Mindforce - "Survival Is Vengeance"

Like the aforementioned Dead Cross ripper, Mindforce's latest also clocks in at a mere 1:45. Brevity notwithstanding, the touted New York state crossover crew manages to squeeze in not one, but two breakdowns that stretch out the meat of the song for a savage, fist-pounding blow to the eardrums that feels substantial. Even the most seasoned hardcore vets will come out of pit retirement for this one.

Silent Planet - ":Signal:"

If you're looking for a dizzying whir of violent, djenty metalcore, Silent Planet's ":Signal:" will hit the spot. The unrelenting foot-on-your-neck, anxious feeling keeps building up until 2:50 when the bottom drops out and the riff comes back just seconds later, bringing with it one of the most terror-inducing roars you're likely to hear in any heavy song this year.