Ghost Unveil Insane "Rats" Music Video, Announce New Album 'Prequelle' | Revolver

Ghost Unveil Insane "Rats" Music Video, Announce New Album 'Prequelle'

Cardinal Copia busts out sweet dance moves in Swedish occult-metal band's latest visual

Following several weeks of anticipation, theatrical Swedish metal outfit Ghost have officially announced their fourth sacred psalm. Prequelle, the follow-up to 2015's Meliora, is set to arrive on June 1st via Loma Vista Recordings; it marks the inaugural appearance of Cardinal Copia, the band's latest frontman appointed earlier this month. Accompanying Ghost's big news is the Roboshobo-directed music video for Prequelle's lead single, "Rats," which premiered on Sirius XM yesterday (April 12th). The clip, which nods to everything from Michael Jackson's "Thriller" and Singing in the Rain, sees Cardinal Copia dancing in the streets of a bloody post-apocalyptic urban wasteland.

Pre-orders for Ghost's Prequelle are live now. In addition to the expected physical and digital formats, the band is offering an impressive limited-edition bundle that includes a colored LP with 3D Lenticular Cover Art, an 8-track tape, a "Rats" die cut picture-disc, a "musical eucharist case," pins, a plague mask and more. You can snag yours via Ghost's webshop. Scroll down to view Prequelle's artwork and track listing.

Ghost "director" Tobias Forge divulged some details about the new album in a recent Revolver interview. "It's a themed album around medieval times, but it's definitely clinging onto a lot of very current things," he explained. "The Black Death [plague] is a great example of a turning point for a whole civilization. Complete villages were annihilated. Most people knew very little, so all of it was God or the Devil — and about their faith being questioned: Why are we being stricken down by this great scourge? It must be because of our not fearing God enough and all this superstitious bullshit."

Ghost will hit the road for a U.S. tour behind Prequelle early next month. Check out a complete list of dates here.

Ghost Prequelle

Ghost: Prequelle track listing:
01. "Ashes"
02. "Rats"
03. "Faith"
04. "See the Light"
05. "Miasma"
06. "Dance Macabre"
07. "Pro Memoria"
08. "Witch Image"
09. "Helvetesfonster"
10. "Life Eternal"