Hear Alice in Chains Go Full Doom on New Song "So Far Under" | Revolver

Hear Alice in Chains Go Full Doom on New Song "So Far Under"

Plus grunge icons share details about new album 'Rainier Fog,' which hits shelves August 24th

Alice in Chains have announced a new full-length, Rainier Fog. The follow-up to 2013's The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here hits shelves August 24th via BMG. They cut the ten-track effort with longtime producer Nick Raskulinecz at Studio X in Alice in Chains' hometown of Seattle, where they previously laid down tracks for the group's 1995 self-titled LP — making this the first release recorded by the band on their home turf in over 20 years. (Additional sessions took place in Nashville and Los Angeles.) 

Accompanying the announcement is a doomy new song, "So Far Under." The sludgy ripper follows last month's "The One You Know" (also set to appear on the new LP), and finds the band leavening their signature grunge with dreary, hypnotic grooves reminiscent of Electric Wizard. 

"It's about feeling completely up against it — outnumbered, surrounded, facing seemingly unbeatable odds and being really pissed off about it," vocalist/guitarist William DuVall says of the song. "It was inspired by personal circumstances, as well as events in the wider world. But it's not as resigned to defeat as it may seem. The lyric is a cold, hard assessment of a difficult situation, but the music has a message all its own. There's still room to flip the script. Every aspect of writing and recording this song will always be remembered with a lot of joy — from recording the basic tracks and the guitar solo at Studio X in Seattle to doing further overdubs at Nick Raskulinecz's studio in rural Tennessee. Everyone in the band and our studio team really stepped up and knocked it out of the park on this one. We're extremely proud of this song and the entire album."

Pre-orders for Rainier Fog are live now at this location. Read on for the album artwork and track-listing. Find Alice in Chains' upcoming tour dates here.


Alice In Chains - Rainier Fog track listing:

01. "The One You Know"
02. "Rainier Fog"
03. "Red Giant"
04. "Fly"
05. "Drone"
06. "Deaf Ears Blind Eyes"
07. "Maybe"
08. "So Far Under"
09. "Never Fade"
10. "All I Am"