Hear Arch Enemy Channel Judas Priest on New Ripper "Handshake With Hell" | Revolver

Hear Arch Enemy Channel Judas Priest on New Ripper "Handshake With Hell"

Swedish melodeath stalwarts go old-school with latest 'Deceiver' single

We've teamed with Arch Enemy for an exclusive tan colored vinyl variant of their new album Deceivers — limited to 500. Order yours from our shop!

Last week, Arch Enemy announced that they'll be releasing their first album in five years, Deceivers, on July 29th via Century Media Records. The Swedish melodeath juggernaut already dropped two scorching singles, "Deceiver, Deceiver" and "House of Mirrors," back in 2021, and now they've returned with a third called "Handshake With Hell" that also absolutely rips.

Similar to "House of Mirrors," this one sees the band channeling old-school metal in the vein of Judas Priest, stuffing in oodles of fire-roasted lead licks and steely vocal cries from frontwoman Alissa White-Gluz — as well as an unexpected clean bridge that sounds like an eerie Celine Dion ballad. All in all, it's an explosive track, one perfectly complemented by its fiery music video. Watch and listen above.

"To me, it's a standout track on the new Deceivers album," guitarist Michael Amott commented. "Really showcasing what we are capable of as songwriters and performers in 2022. It's definitely one of the new songs I'm dying to play live on tour!"

"When Michael and Daniel showed me the instrumental they had cooked up, I got a ton of vocal ideas to complete the song," White-Gluz added. "'Handshake with Hell' has a classic heavy metal feel, and it felt like the right time to unleash some classic heavy metal vocals to match. I think the result is really interesting and catchy!"

Deceivers is out July 29th via Century Media Records and is available for pre-order a variety of formats, including our exclusive tan colored vinyl variant that's limited to just 500 copies worldwide. Order yours from our shop!

Arch Enemy Deceivers vinyl admat

Deceivers tracklisting
1. Handshake With Hell
2. Deceiver, Deceiver
3. In The Eye of the Storm
4. The Watcher
5. Poisoned Arrow
6. Sunset Over the Empire
7. House of Mirrors
8. Spreading Black Wings
9. Mourning Star
10. One Last Time
11. Exiled From Earth