Hear Dark-Wave Duo Strvngers Take on Sex, Drugs and Death on Dancey New Album | Revolver

Hear Dark-Wave Duo Strvngers Take on Sex, Drugs and Death on Dancey New Album

Canadian act streaming full 'Amor/Noir' LP ahead of April 20th release
strvngers band photo

Strvngers (pronounced "Strangers") are Maria Joaquin and Kyle Craig, an Edmonton duo who blends chilly darkwave with bubbly electropop (and occasionally, crank out killer Cyndi Lauper covers). After showcasing their caustic catchiness on last year's self-titled debut, the pair kick it up a notch with the ambitious sophomore album Amor/Noir. Arriving tomorrow (April 20th) via Negative Gain, the 13-track effort retains the gothic glitz of its predecessors — but strip away their Eighties-inspired veneer, and you'll find that this dance-ready LP ain't no disco.

"We were in a dark place when we wrote Amor/Noir," Joaquin explains. "Music is our therapy — literal blood, sweat and tears went into these 13 tracks, and it shows in instrumentals and lyrics. We confronted a lot of our demons on the new album, everything from sex and drug addictions, to the loss and death of our loved ones. We really feel like this record almost killed us."

"In the end," Joaquin concludes, the result is an album that grabs you by the throat and leaves you gasping for air. If you have ever loved or lost someone, Amor/Noir will crush you."

Hear Strvngers' Amor/Noir below, pre-order it here, and read on for the album art and track listing.

Strvngers Album Art

Strvngers - Amor/Noir track listing:

01. "WanderLust"
02. "Vanity"
03. "Fetisha"
04. "Leder Dame"
05. "This Is Not A Phase"
06. "Hexxxed"
07. "Pink Coffin"
08. "Verismilitude"
09. "Lethargy"
10. "Éxtasis Voraz"
11. "Noir"
12. "Porcelain"
13. "Heroin{e}"