Hear DevilDriver's Timely New Crusher "Keep Away From Me" | Revolver

Hear DevilDriver's Timely New Crusher "Keep Away From Me"

Frontman Dez Fafara: "I've been social distancing since I was born"

It's been four long years since DevilDriver released any new, original material (their last album was the 2018 country covers LP Outlaws 'til the End, Vol. 1), but the drought has finally ended. Today (May 21st), the Californian quintet — led by former Coal Chamber frontman Dez Fafara — unleashed "Keep Away From Me," the roaring, grooving lead single and opening cut off the band's forthcoming album, Dealing With Demons I, which is itself the first part of a planned double album. The all-too-relevant song arrives amid the COVID-19 pandemic and resulting social-distancing restrictions, a fact that is not lost on Fafara.

"I've been social distancing since I was born," the vocalist and bandleader commented of "Keep Away From Me" and its lyric video. "I've learned to try and embrace my Agoraphobia all my life. This is what the lyrics are about as we are all sheltered in place. They seem very clear. Now is not the time bands should shy away from the obvious by trying to push the narrative through their art as if everything is alright with the world and 'it's metal video visual as usual time,' as it is clearly not that time.

He continued, "We as artists should speak up, inspire and change lives, or paint a picture — a time capsule if you will — by the narrative we push in uncertain times. This video is one such art piece as my band and thousands of others are forced into quarantine — cannot rehearse, take photos, or perform — to make a music video for the very people that have supported us for years. It's trying times for the world and my outlook through this video is simply this: 'Here's what we are going through as a family on this planet and as we embrace what is yet to come ... please stand together.'"

Dealing With Demons I is set for release on October 9th via Napalm Records and is available for pre-order in an array of collectible formats and bundles. See the album cover art and track listing below.

devildriver dealing with demons I album cover

Dealing With Demons I track listing:
1. Keep Away From Me
2. Vengeance Is Clear
3. Nest of Vipers
4. Iona
5. Wishing
6. You Give Me a Reason to Drink (feat. Simon Blade Fafara)
7. Witches
8. Dealing With Demons
9. The Damned Don't Cry
10. Scars Me Forever