Hear Frozen Soul Turn Slayer's "Mandatory Suicide" into Death Metal Mayhem | Revolver

Hear Frozen Soul Turn Slayer's "Mandatory Suicide" into Death Metal Mayhem

Texas band unleash bone-chilling rendition of 'South of Heaven' classic

Revolver has teamed with Frozen Soul for a limited-edition vinyl reissue of their 2019 EP, Encased in Ice, on "grey marble" wax. There are only 300 copies available — order yours before they're gone! 

Way back in January, Texas death metal unit Frozen Soul released their frigid debut album, Crypt of Ice, which we deemed one of the best releases of 2021 so far. Now, the Fort Worth group are giving their back catalog a bump by reissuing their 2019 demo EP, Encased in Ice, with a few extra goodies attached. 

In addition to the original four-song track list — which includes a cover of Mortician's "Witches Coven" — Frozen Soul are tacking on a bonus track, a demo of "Crypt of Ice" and two cover songs, one of Entombed's "Morbid Devourment" and one of Slayer's "Mandatory Suicide."

The latter is out today, and as Frozen Soul fans might expect, it's an absolutely filthy, evil-as-fuck rendition of the South of Heaven highlight. Crank it above via YouTube. 

The full Encased in Ice reissue is out October 29th and is available for pre-order on a variety of formats. One of those is a Revolver-exclusive vinyl pressing on "grey marble" wax that's limited to just 300 copies. Order yours before they're gone! 

See the artwork and track listing below. 

Frozen Soul Encased in Ice vinyl admat

Encased in Ice reissue track listing: 
"Encased in Ice"
"Hand of Vengeance"
"Witches Coven"
"Tormented by Time"
"Mandatory Suicide"
"Morbid Devourment"
"Crypt of Ice"