Hear At the Gates' Punishing New Song "To Drink From the Night Itself" | Revolver

Hear At the Gates' Punishing New Song "To Drink From the Night Itself"

Swedes unveil brutally hooky title track from upcoming seventh LP

At the Gates have returned with a new song and music video, "To Drink From the Night Itself." It's the title track from the Swedes' seventh album, due out May 18th via Century Media Records.

"To us, this gives a presentation of the attitude of the album: raw, hungry, and desperate," frontman Tomas Lindberg comments. "It also gives an introduction to the whole concept of the record. We live through our art, and the whole album deals with the concept of art. Art as a tool either for revolution, or suppression. To drink from the night itself is just that, a metaphor for living and breathing through art."

"Of course," he continues, "the concept goes deeper than that, but this song is the heart of the concept, the fierce call to arms so to say. We are still at war, but this time we are fighting the abyss, the abyss of apathy and oppression. It is an aggressive song, but also contains a lot of the other elements of the band's sound on this record. Melancholia, desperation and struggle."

With regards to the accompanying performance clip, Lindberg adds: "For the first video, we chose to use director Patric Ullaeus again, as he is good at capturing the raw energy of the band playing live. In the video you can also see glimpses of the art used for the cover, so it binds it all together nicely. Enjoy."

Produced by Russ Russell (Napalm Death, Dimmu Borgir), To Drink From the Night Itself marks the follow-up to 2014's At War With Reality LP. Read on for the album artwork and track listing, and pre-order it here. Find dates for the band's upcoming European and Latin American tours here.

at the gates album art

At The Gates — To Drink From the Night Itself track list:
01. "Der Widerstand"
02. "To Drink From The Night Itself"
03. "A Stare Bound In Stone"
04. "Palace Of Lepers"
05. "Daggers Of Black Haze"
06. "The Chasm"
07. "In Nameless Sleep"
08. "The Colours Of The Beast"
09. "A Labyrinth Of Tombs"
10. "Seas Of Starvation"
11. "In Death They Shall Burn"
12. "The Mirror Black"