Hear Gorguts' Luc Lemay Roar on Teeth's New Death-Metal Scorcher "Husk" | Revolver

Hear Gorguts' Luc Lemay Roar on Teeth's New Death-Metal Scorcher "Husk"

Lemay: "Death metal as grim and menacing as it gets!"
Teeth_press_2019.jpg, Brandon Mavaddat
Teeth, 2019
photograph by Brandon Mavaddat

"The first time I heard Teeth, I instantly loved the dark, guttural rawness of their sound. Death metal as grim and menacing as it gets!"

You know a band is doing something right when Gorguts architect and guitar wizard Luc Lemay himself has this kind of praise to spew, and Los Angeles death-metal fiends Teeth are doing exactly that. Their sophomore album, The Curse of Entropy, is just around a month out from making it hellish debut, but today brings a taste of the putrefaction to come with the new single "Husk," a devastating sonic nightmare to which Lemay lends his enormous vocal roar. 

Teeth vocalist-guitarist Erol Ulug says the punishing track "details the imprisonment of consciousness within our flesh and bodies. Particularly through the lens of being comatose. No one has any choice regarding who they are. We are all doomed to be ourselves alongside the dizziness of freedom." Working with Lemay on the composition was exciting for the group, as he is "a huge inspiration and influence" who rose to the occasion and delivered a truly memorable guest spot. 

Ulug continues, "The way he layered long screams that trail over the bar added a really cool dimension and isn't something do very often ourselves, so it made it stand out in the best way. From a musical standpoint 'Husk' is definitely among the darkest, most discordant and punishing songs we've ever written, with very few moments of respite for us and the listener."

Blast the track above, and if you like what you hear, pre-order a copy of The Curse of Entropy via Translation Loss before its November 29th release. See the stunning cover art, by Carlos Agraz, and the full track listing below.

teeth_curseofentropy_cover.jpg, Carlos Agraz
Teeth 'The Curse Of Entropy' cover art, 2019
photograph by Carlos Agraz

The Curse of Entropy track listing: 
1. Enlever
2. Husk
3. Wither
4. Collapse
5. Birthright
6. Cretin
7. Dread
8. Blindness
9. Entropy
10. Vessel