Hear IIVII's New Ambient Post-Metal Epic Inspired by Meth-Fueled "Death Party" | Revolver

Hear IIVII's New Ambient Post-Metal Epic Inspired by Meth-Fueled "Death Party"

Former Soundgarden, Neurosis visual artist soundtracks "true-life love story" of Duane and Debra Johnson

Josh Graham has made his name creating both cinematic avant-metal music with bands including A Storm of Light, Red Sparowes and Battle of Mice, and stunning visual art for the likes of Neurosis and Soundgarden. His current endeavor is the solo project IIVII, an ambient post-metal outfit that's about to drop not one but two albums, the dark, intertwined LPs, Grinding Teeth and Zero Sleep, which feature guest contributions from Soundgarden's Kim Thayil, former Dillinger Escape Plan/current Suicidal Tendencies guitarist Ben Weinman and others. Both records are due out March 20 via Consouling Sounds (you can pre-order them here), but today (March 6th), Graham has teamed with Revolver to premiere "Aftreglow (Little Black and White Things)," the haunting closing cut off Grinding Teeth, along with its stark, gripping music video. Listen and watch above.

Grinding Teeth was inspired by the extreme "true-life love story" of Duane and Debra Johnson, according to Graham. "Battling multiple health and mental illness issues, Debra Johnson asked her husband, Duane, to remove her from a medical facility so she could die at home. Over the next five days, they had an extended 'death party'; smoking methamphetamine, listening to Quiet Riot and having sex. After Debra died in Duane's arms, he wrapped her in linen and called the police. When they arrived on scene, Duane was standing naked near the front door, screaming that his wife was dead. The words 'Death Parde God Hell' were spray-painted across the door."  

For its part, Zero Sleep is the adapted score from Thomas D. Rotenberg's sci-fi short film Don't Forget to Remember and revolves around themes of hope, despair, love and liberation. See the cover art and track listing for both albums below. 


Grinding Teeth track listing:
1. Crystalline Beasts
2. Disappearing Self
3. Bell Ringer
4. Sing Your Death Song
5. Coda. Ascending Ardor
6. Wrapped in Linen
7. Afterglow (Little Black and White Things)


Zero Sleep track listing:
1. All of Us Refugees
2. Mirrorlike
3. This Chrysalis
4. Sun and Solace
5. White Light
6. Beginning
7. Sleeping Dreaming
8. Coalescing Bodies
9. Bliss