Hear Judas Priest's Scorching New Song "Firepower" | Revolver

Hear Judas Priest's Scorching New Song "Firepower"

NWOBHM pioneers release rousing title track to forthcoming album

Judas Priest have unveiled the anthemic title track from their new record Firepower, the icons' follow-up to their 2014 LP Redeemer of Souls, which drops March 9th on Epic. One of our 30 most anticipated albums of 2018, Firepower will be supported with a massive U.S. tour.

The second single from the forthcoming LP, the song "Firepower" follows the ripper "Lightning Strike," which the band previewed earlier this month.

Below, vocalist Rob Halford walks us through a line-by-line examination of "Lightning Strike," and unpacks the metaphors that he employs to tell a story of resisting fear-based manipulation at the hands of authority figures.

Firepower reunites Judas Priest with Tom Allom, who produced all of the band's records from 1979–1988, including the classic albums British Steel (1980), Screaming for Vengeance (1982) and Defenders of the Faith (1984). Grammy Award–winning producer Andy Sneap also worked on the 14-track LP, which the band recorded as a single unit.

Judas Priest – Firepower track listing:

01. "Firepower"
02. "Lightning Strike"
03. "Evil Never Dies"
04. "Never The Heroes"
05. "Necromancer"
06. "Children of the Sun"
07. "Guardians"
08. "Rising From Ruins"
09. "Flame Thrower"
10. "Spectre"
11. "Traitors Gate"
12. "No Surrender"
13. "Lone Wolf"
14. "Sea of Red"