Hear Killswitch Engage's Epic, Crushing New Song "Unleashed" | Revolver

Hear Killswitch Engage's Epic, Crushing New Song "Unleashed"

Metalcore leaders announce highly anticipated eighth album 'Atonement'

New England metalcore stalwarts Killswitch Engage have released a new song "Unleashed," the triumphant lead cut off the band's highly anticipated eighth album, Atonement, which is due August 16th. "'Unleashed' is about inner passion and rage coming up to the surface," said singer Jesse Leach. "We all have that wild within that often stays dormant until a tragic event triggers and awakens it. This song is about that awakening within. I feel we were able to capture something raw and intense on this song and I'm stoked for everyone to hear it! The new album Atonement is a reflection of perseverance and passion through the trials and suffering of our existence."

The follow-up to 2016's Incarnate, Atonement was produced by Killswitch guitarist Adam Dutkiewicz and will notably feature guest appearances by Testament's Chuck Billy and longtime Killswitch singer Howard Jones, currently of Light the Torch. (Jones replaced Leach, the group's original singer, in 2002, before splitting with the band himself 10 years later, whereupon Leach returned to the fold.) See Atonement's cover art (by U.K.-based artist Richey Beckett) and track list below, as well as the lyrics to "Unleashed," which Killswitch shared via social media last week. Pre-order bundles are available now. The band is about to hit the road on a Revolver-presented co-headlining tour with Clutch.

killswitch engage atonement cover art

Atonement track listing:
01 – "Unleashed"
02 – "The Signal Fire" (feat. Howard Jones)
03 – "Us Against The World"
04 – "The Crownless King" (feat. Chuck Billy)
05 – "I Am Broken Too"
06 – "As Sure As The Sun Will Rise"
07 – "Know Your Enemy"
08 – "Take Control"
09 – "Ravenous"
10 – "I Can't Be The Only One"
11 – "Bite The Hand That Feeds"