Hear Korn's Sleek, Stirring New Song "You'll Never Find Me" | Revolver

Hear Korn's Sleek, Stirring New Song "You'll Never Find Me"

Nu-metal godfathers announce forthcoming 13th album 'The Nothing'
korn PRESS 2019 CROPPED, Brian Ziff
photograph by Brian Ziff

The progenitors of nu-metal, Korn, are back with new music, and on their latest single "You'll Never Find Me," the Bakersfield titans sound as full of angst and trepidation as ever. Kicking off with a signature bulky, staccato riff augmented by eerie samples, the track gains steam when singer Jonathan Davis' vocals surge into the mix. This is sleek, modern Korn, constructed with equal radio-readiness and sonic mass, a vertically leaping repeating groove underneath Davis' chant "I'm lost/You'll never find me" capturing the band at their best and heaviest.

"You'll Never Find Me" is the lead single from Korn's forthcoming 13th studio album The Nothing, which is available for pre-order now. Their first since 2016's The Serenity of Suffering, the record is also the first since Davis' wife Deven passed away last year at age 39. Understandably, the new LP will deal with heavy topics, including the ever-mysterious duality of nature.

"Deep, within our Earth lives an extraordinary force," Davis begins a lengthy and theatrical statement on the new material. "Very few are aware of the magnitude and significance of this place where good/evil, dark/light, bliss/torment, loss/gain and hope/despair all exist as one — pulling at us every moment of our lives. It's not something we can choose to navigate, but rather an awareness of this 'presence' that surrounds us with every breath, as if we are being watched at every moment. It's the place where black and white energies attach themselves to our souls, and shape our emotion, choices, perspective and ultimately our very existence. There is a miraculous and small realm within this vortex and it's the only place where balance between these dynamic and polarizing forces exists — where the soul finds it refuge. Welcome to ... THE NOTHING." 

The Nothing is set for release on September 13th via Roadrunner Record/Elektra. Korn will kick off a co-headlining summer tour with Nineties grunge stalwarts Alice in Chains on July 18th in Del Valle, Texas. Find a full list of dates here, and check out the new record's track list and cover artwork below. 


The Nothing track listing:
1. The End Begins
2. Cold
3. You'll Never Find Me
4. The Darkness Is Revealing
5. Idiosyncrasy
6. The Seduction of Indulgence
7. Finally Free
8. Can You Hear Me
9. The Ringmaster
10. Gravity of Discomfort
11. H@rd3r
12. This Loss
13. Surrender to Failure