Hear Korn's Cathartic New Song "Start the Healing" | Revolver

Hear Korn's Cathartic New Song "Start the Healing"

'Requiem' lead single arrives with surreal sci-fi video

Revolver has teamed with Korn for an exclusive silver vinyl variant of their upcoming album, Requiem. It's limited to 1,000 — order yours now!

Korn's last album, 2019's The Nothing, was their best in more than a decade. A little over two years later, the Bakersfield alt-metal juggernaut have announced their follow-up, Requiem, and unleashed its lead single "Start the Healing." Driven by a roiling industrial groove and Jonathan Davis' alternately crooned and roared vocals, the song arrived today (November 11th) along with a cinematic music video directed by Tim Saccenti (Flying Lotus, Run the Jewels, Depeche Mode). Watch and listen above.

Saccenti commented of the surreal sci-fi visual: "Our idea for this video was to mutate that aspect of the DNA of Korn, of what makes them so inspiring, their mix of raw power and transportive aesthetics and human emotion.

"I wanted to take the viewer on an emotional journey, as the song does, a visceral, cathartic death and rebirth that will hopefully help transport the listener through whatever their personal struggles are.

"Collaborating with 3-D artist Anthony Ciannamea we tapped into Korn's mythology and explored their vast well of light and darkness to create a surreal, liminal-pace body-horror nightmare."

Korn have been teasing "Start the Healing" within an augmented reality filter and billboards bearing the band's iconic logo, both of which began appearing worldwide last week. The song will appear on Requiem as its third track (see the full tracklist below).

Requiem — which features bassist Reginald "Fieldy" Arvizu, although he's not currently an active member of the band — is due out February 4th via Loma Vista and available for pre-order in an array of collectible formats. These include an exclusive silver vinyl variant strictly limited to 1,000 — order yours now before they're gone!

Requiem tracklist:
1. Forgotten
2. Let the Dark Do the Rest
3. Start The Healing
4. Lost in the Grandeur
5. Disconnect
6. Hopeless and Beaten
7. Penance to Sorrow
8. My Confession
9. Worst Is on Its Way