Hear Machine Head Drop a Ten Ton Hammer With New Song "Beyond the Pale" | Revolver

Hear Machine Head Drop a Ten Ton Hammer With New Song "Beyond the Pale"

Bay Area groove-metal stalwarts also reveal 'Catharsis' album details

Bay Area metal powerhouse Machine Head have dropped the lead single off their forthcoming ninth full-length Catharsis, which is due out January 26th, 2018 via Nuclear Blast. The song "Beyond the Pale" opens with a crescendo-ing melodic guitar line before kicking it a signature Machine Head groove riff and a big sing-along chorus. Catharsis follows up 2014's Bloodstone & Diamonds and was recorded at Oakland's Sharkbite Studios with Zack Ohren (All Shall Perish, Fallujah. You can pre-order the album here.

"To my ears it's the record that could have followed The Burning Red, except that this has a much more aggressive production," singer-guitarist Robb Flynn recently told Metal Hammer. "The Burning Red had a much darker, more stoner vibe. This has a real classic, Blackening, Burn My Eyes production, but I've still been saying to people on these Facebook Live things I do that you need to lower your expectations for the heaviness!"

Catharsis track listing:

01. Volatile
02. Catharsis
03. Beyond The Pale
04. California Bleeding
05. Triple Beam
06. Kaleidoscope
07. Bastards
08. Hope Begets Hope
09. Screaming At The Sun
10. Behind A Mask
11. Heavy Lies The Crown
12. Psychotic
13. Grind You Down
14. Razorblade Smile
15. Eulogy