Hear Max Cavalera Rage on Searing New Soulfly Song "Evil Empowered" | Revolver

Hear Max Cavalera Rage on Searing New Soulfly Song "Evil Empowered"

Plus, groove-metal titans detail forthcoming 'Ritual' LP featuring Lamb of God, Immolation members

Back in January, Soulfly entered the studio with Gojira and Lamb of God producer Josh Wilbur to record the follow-up to 2015's album Archangel. After live-debuting a new song, "The Summoning," last month, Max Cavalera and Co. have detailed their anticipated eleventh LP: Ritual is due out October 19th via Nuclear Blast. It features the aforementioned track, plus the aptly named "Evil Empowered," a primal, groove-metal behemoth unleashed in tandem with the announcement.

Other expected highlights on Ritual include "Dead Behind the Eyes," featuring Lamb of God frontman Randy Blythe, and "Under Rapture," a collaboration with Immolation bassist and vocalist Ross Dolan. Find the full track-listing below, under Eliran Kantor's stunning album artwork.

"Working with Josh Wilbur for Soulfly this time around has been amazing," says Cavalera of the new LP. "He's a huge fan and added a lot to the record. I would fight for the fast songs and he would always push me to add more groove. I think in the end we created a really cool mix of songs that covers a lot of ground in my career. Let the Ritual begin!"

You heard the man — pre-order Soulfly's Ritual here.


Soulfly - Ritual track listing:

01. "Ritual"
02. "Dead Behind The Eyes" [ft. Randy Blythe]
03. "The Summoning"
04. "Evil Empowered"
05. "Under Rapture" [feat. Ross Dolan]
06. "Demonized"
07. "Blood On The Street"
08. "Bite The Bullet"
09. "Feedback!"
10. "Soulfly XI"

Below, see Max Cavalera show off two of his oldest vests and reveal how Discharge inspired him to make a "battle jacket" before he even knew the term, how he constructed his own "bullet belts" out of AA batteries as a kid in Brazil, and why he chooses to safety-pin his patches on instead of sewing them.