Hear Ministry's Seething New Song "Good Trouble," Inspired by Black Lives Matter | Revolver

Hear Ministry's Seething New Song "Good Trouble," Inspired by Black Lives Matter

Industrial icons debut 'Moral Hygiene' single with gritty video filmed during L.A. BLM protests

Revolver has teamed with Ministry for an exclusive "bone" vinyl variant of their new album, Moral Hygiene. It's limited to 300 — order your copy now!

Industrial-metal trailblazers Ministry have just announced that their new and 15th album, Moral Hygiene, will drop on October 1st via Nuclear Blast. The news came with the debut of the album's first single "Good Trouble."

The menacing, crushing song is classic Ministry fare: propelled by driving riffs, mechanical drums, mainman Al Jourgensen's signature seething vocals (and wailing harmonica) and some choice cut-n-paste samples. "Good Trouble," which was inspired by the 2020 Black Lives Matter protests and the activism of late Congressman John Lewis, arrives with a new video featuring footage of last year's demonstrations in Los Angeles shot by Jourgensen and his partner Liz Walton.

"I was watching the coverage last July around Lewis' death and was in awe the next day when this entire letter from him was published in the New York Times," Jourgensen says about the inspiration behind the new single. "How suss was that to want to keep making progress after his death by thinking about the legacy he left. I was struck by the reflectiveness of his speech, knowing he was dying and making sure it was released because he saw trouble ahead. That is the moral hygiene of this album — we have to do something to change and I really hope we continue to act and live up to the idea of getting into good trouble for the benefit of society."

The 10-track Moral Hygiene is the follow-up to Ministry's last full-length, 2018's Amerikkkant.

"The good thing about literally taking a year off from any social activity or touring is that you really get to sit back and get an overview of things as they are happening, as opposed to being caught up in the moment," said Jorgensen in a statement about the album. "And what I saw with how we handled several public crises — from the pandemic to racial injustice to who we vote in to lead our country — is that times are changing, and society needed to change to get away from the idea that has permeated us of take care of yourself, fuck everything else. Now more than ever we need moral hygiene. It consumed me as I wrote this album. It's not some pious term. It's what we have to return to in order to function as the human species on this planet. And I'm proud to have had such great guests on this album to help cement that message like Billy Morrison, Jello Biafra and Arabian Prince."

Moral Hygiene was recorded with engineer Michael Rozon at Scheisse Dog Studio, Jourgensen's self-built home studio. Jourgensen wrote and performed all songs with additional contributions from Billy Morrison (Billy Idol, Royal Machines), Cesar Soto (Man The Mute), John Bechdel (Killing Joke, Fear Factory), Roy Mayorga (Stonesour, Soulfly, Nausea), Paul D'Amour (Tool, Feersum Ennjin), Arabian Prince (N.W.A.), Jello Biafra (Dead Kennedys) and sitar player Flash.

Moral Hygiene will be available in multiple digital and physical formats, including the Revolver-exclusive "bone" vinyl variant, limited to 300 worldwide. Pre-orders are available now.

Moral Hygiene track listing:
1. Alert Level
2. Good Trouble
3. Sabotage Is Sex
4. Disinformation
5. Search and Destroy
6. Believe Me
7. Broken System
8. We Shall Resist
9. Death Toll
10. TV Song #6 (Right Around the Corner Mix)