Hear Myrkur Face "The Will of the Gods" on New Folk Single "Gudernes Vilje" | Revolver

Hear Myrkur Face "The Will of the Gods" on New Folk Single "Gudernes Vilje"

Daring Danish musician offers up third and final single off 'Folkesange'

On March 20th, Danish composer and multi-instrumentalist Amalie Bruun will release the latest long-form offering from her transcendent folk-metal project Myrkur. Titled Folkesange, the LP focuses exclusively on her mellower, more traditional inclinations, featuring original compositions that tap into the sound and spirit of Scandinavian folk music.

The album's third and final single is "Gudernes Vilje," which means "The Will of the Gods" in English. The stunning, ethereal song is led by Bruun's crystalline vocals, which shimmer atop the ancient sounds of piano, violin, mandola, cello, and frame drum.

"I wrote this song about being given the biggest gift in life and then having it taken away from you," Bruun commented. "'Alt går som Gudernes Vilje' means everything goes according to the will of the Gods. We are only human and some of the biggest most important things in this life, are completely out of our control."

See Folkesange's full track listing, as well as Myrkur's upcoming live dates, below. The album is available for pre-order now.

Folkesange track listing:
1 – Ella
2 – Fager som en Ros
3 – Leaves of Yggdrasil
4 – Ramund
5 – Tor i Helheim
6 – Svea
7 – Harpens Kraft
8 – Gammelkäring
9 – House Carpenter
10 – Reiar
11 – Gudernes Vilje Vinter

Myrkur live dates:
07/09 – 07/11: Gefle, SE – Gefle Metal Festival
08/05 – 08/08: Jaroměř, CZ – Brutal Assault Festival