Hear Perturbator's Nihilistic New EBM Banger "Death of the Soul" | Page 2 | Revolver

Hear Perturbator's Nihilistic New EBM Banger "Death of the Soul"

Synthwave trailblazer channels Front 242 on 'Lustful Sacraments' lead single

For nearly a decade, French musician James Kent, a.k.a. Perturbator, has been spearheading the dark synthwave movement, coiling together elements of heavy metal, industrial music, techno, goth, post-punk, horror-movie and video-game soundtracks, and more into a cinematic sound all his own. His fifth full-length, Lustful Sacraments, is due out May 28th via Blood Music, and today (March 4th), Perturbator has teamed with Revolver to premiere the LP's propulsive lead single, "Death of the Soul," and its Enter the Void-esque music video. Directed by Jean Valnoir Simoulin (Metastazis), the clip takes the viewer on a ride through a dystopian pinball machine. Watch and listen above.

"The track takes inspiration from old-school EBM à la DAF or Front 242," Kent tells us of the song. "Valnoir [Metastazis] has managed to perfectly pair visuals that reflect the nihilistic tone of it."

He adds of Lustful Sacraments: "It's an album about bad habits, dissatisfaction and addiction. An overall look at how we, as a species, lean towards self-destruction."

Lustful Sacraments is available for pre-orders in an array of formats including gatefold 2LP, picture disc 2LP, cassette and digital release. See the cover art and track listing below.

perturbator lustful cover

Lustful Sacraments track list:
1.    Reaching Xanadu
2.    Lustful Sacraments
3.    Excess
4.    Secret Devotion (ft. True Body)
5.    Death of the Soul
6.    The Other Place
7.    Dethroned Under a Funeral Haze
8.    Messalina, Messalina
9.    God Says (ft. Hangman's Chair)