Hear Portnoy and Petrucci Make Prog Magic on New Liquid Tension Experiment Song | Revolver

Hear Portnoy and Petrucci Make Prog Magic on New Liquid Tension Experiment Song

Instrumental supergroup offers taste of first album in 22 years

Comprised of current and former members of Dream Theater, Avenged Sevenfold, King Crimson and more, progressive instrumental quartet Liquid Tension Experiment holds a special place in the annals of rock supergroups. It's been over two decades since the project dropped an album, 1999's LTE2, and up until recently, there was little reason to think that there would ever be another. Then earlier this year, the group — guitarist John Petrucci, bassist Tony Levin, keyboardist Jordan Rudess and drummer Mike Portnoy — revealed plans to release a new LP, of course titled LTE3, and today (January 22nd), they've premiered the lead single off said album, the frantic and virtuosic prog-metal expedition "The Passage of Time." Blast it above.

"This was the first song we worked on, and when it was done, we all knew once again how amazing it was to be working together," Petrucci commented. "We knew we were on to something and that this was going to be a really amazing album. Nothing about the passage of over two decades could've done anything to change that. To me this song truly reflects the collaborative songwriting efforts of all four of us."

LTE3 is set to drop on March 26th. It's available for pre-order now in an array of collectible editions including a Revolver-exclusive clear vinyl 2LP + CD variant. It's limited to 300 copies worldwide — grab yours now before they're gone!

LTE3 tracklisting:
1. Hypersonic (8:22)
2. Beating the Odds (6:09)
3. Liquid Evolution (3:23)
4. The Passage of Time (7:32)
5. Chris & Kevin's Amazing Odyssey (5:04)
6. Rhapsody in Blue (13:16)
7. Shades of Hope (4:42)
8. Key to the Imagination (13:14)

Bonus disc includes almost an hour of improvised jams