Hear Riley Hawk Rage on Warish's Raucous New Song "Say to Please" | Page 2 | Revolver

Hear Riley Hawk Rage on Warish's Raucous New Song "Say to Please"

Pro-skater's "low-budget horror-rock" trio previews upcoming 'Next to Pay' LP

Riley Hawk's stoner-metal band Petyr was cool, but for our money, his self-described "low-budget horror-rock" outfit Warish is the pro-skater's best musical endeavor yet, a nasty, raucous mix of Bleach-era Nirvana, Danzig-era Misfits and Gibby Haynes–fronted Ministry. The trio's upcoming sophomore LP, Next to Pay, is due out April 30th (you can pre-order it here) and it takes their venomous sound next level. "This album is more of an evolution, it's a little more punk-heavy," Hawk tells us. Thematically, it's about "a sense of imminent doom, everyone is going to die," the vocalist-guitarist adds. "It's not the happiest record, I guess."

Today (January 27th), Warish — Hawk and his two new bandmates, bassist Alex Bassaj and drummer Justin de la Vega — have teamed with Revolver to unleash Next to Pay's lead single "Say to Please." A fast-paced, feedback-soaked rager, it's not the happiest song either, and it arrives paired with a lo-fi music video that finds Hawk fittingly strapped into a straitjacket. Watch and listen above.

Next to Pay track listing:
01. Next to Pay
02. Another No One
03. S.H.M. (Second Hand Misery)
04. Burn No Bridges
05. Say to Please
06. Seeing Red
07. Destroyer
08. Woven
09. Scars
10. Ordinary
11. Superstar
12. Make the Escape
13. Fear and Pride