Hear Slash's Fiery New Song "Driving Rain" With Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators | Revolver

Hear Slash's Fiery New Song "Driving Rain" With Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators

Guns N' Roses guitar hero channels Aerosmith on first single from upcoming LP

Though busy out on the road with the reunited Guns N' Roses, top-hatted rock icon Slash has linked up with Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators for "Driving Rain," a blistering new blues-rock song from the collaborative project's third full-length, Living the Dream, due out in the fall.

Sharing his remarks on the new cut, Slash dated the smoldering lead riff to a New Hampshire stop-off on the band's tour behind their previous studio effort, 2014's World on Fire. "It's a cool guitar part we ran though, and from that point forward the rest of the song started to come together in my mind while on the road," he said. "We put it all together this year and Myles came up with a great melody for it."

Kennedy, who likens the lick to vintage Aerosmith, adds: "It's got a certain funk to it that's compelling. Lyrically, it's a story about somebody who works on the road — it could be a musician, and it could be a traveling salesman. What makes it interesting is this guy has an addict girlfriend or spouse who continues to relapse, and she ends up getting him to come home. She's miserable and falls back into bad old habits, and that compels him to head back to her to save the day."

Slash, Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators (drummer Brent Fitz, bassist/vocalist Todd Kerns and guitarist/vocalist Frank Sidoris) will release Living the Dream on September 21st via Slash's own label Snakepit Records, in partnership with Roadrunner Records. You can pre-order it here. Scroll down to view the Ron English–designed cover artwork, as well as the track listing, and check here for the band's upcoming tour dates.


Slash featuring Myles Kennedy & the Conspirators - Living the Dream track listing:
01. "The Call of the Wild"
02. "Serve You Right"
03. "My Antidote"
04. "Mind Your Manners"
05. "Lost Inside the Girl"
06. "Read Between the Lines"
07. "Slow Grind"
08. "The One You Loved Is Gone"
09. "Driving Rain"
10. "Sugar Cane"
11. "The Great Pretender"
12. "Boulevard of Broken Hearts"