Hear the Sword's Riffy Doom Cover of KISS' "She" | Revolver

Hear the Sword's Riffy Doom Cover of KISS' "She"

A taste of Austin stoner-rock veterans' two upcoming career-spanning compilations

Beloved by the likes of Metallica's Lars Ulrich, Lamb of God's Mark Morton and Clutch's Neil Fallon, Austin's the Sword are looking back on their celebrated 15-year career with not one but two career-spanning compilations, the CD package Chronology 2006 - 2018 and vinyl release Conquest of Kingdoms, which are both set to be released on June 5th and are available for pre-order now. Ahead of the big drop, the progressive stoner-doom band has offered up a rifftastic take on the KISS classic "She" that appears on both collections.

"The CD package will be more of a career retrospective with selections from each of our albums as well as the rarities and B-sides and things. Sort of a mini box set, you could say," frontman J.D. Cronise commented of the dual comps. "The set will include a booklet with essays and photos, to make it special and extra. Whereas the LP release [Conquest of Kingdoms] is more streamlined, with just the B-side and rarities material. Personally for me, that's what's exciting about the releases. A lot of that stuff I never thought would see the light of day but I always thought was really cool and was proud of."

Conquest of Kingdoms offers 30 tracks, including 16 previously unreleased cuts, and is housed in a triple-gatefold package, including B-sides, oddities and live recordings of fan favorites like "Freya," "Iron Swan" and "Fire Lances of the Ancient Hyperzephyrians," as well as cover versions of "Immigrant Song" (Led Zeppelin), "Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings" (ZZ Top), "Forever My Queen" (Pentagram) and more. A truncated digital version will also be available. In addition to the standard vinyl release, a limited-edition color variant (1,000 pressings worldwide) will also be available exclusively via TheSwordOfficial.com as well as independent retailers.

Chronology 2006–2018 is a three-disc CD compendium, which — in addition to the aforementioned rarities — includes the Sword's greatest hits and fan favorites across 52 tracks (12 previously unreleased). The set also features expansive new liner notes with contributions from the band, plus the aforementioned Ulrich, Morton and Fallon.