Hear Underoath's New Choir-Assisted Anthem "Hallelujah" | Page 2 | Revolver

Hear Underoath's New Choir-Assisted Anthem "Hallelujah"

Metalcore vets bring back the heavy on upcoming seventh LP 'Voyeurist'

Revolver has teamed with Underoath for an exclusive vinyl variant of their new LP, Voyeurist, on "gold static" wax. They're limited to 350 copies and won't last long — order yours now!

It's time for some new Underoath. Following last month's raging "Damn Excuses" single, the Florida metalcore vets have announced their seventh studio LP, Voyeurist, which is set to arrive at the top of next year. Today (August 4th), the group have unveiled another banger from it called "Hallelujah," and once you hear it you won't be able to get it out of your head.

Whereas "Damn Excuses" threw it back to the crushing heaviness of Define the Great Line and Lost in the Sound of Separation, "Hallelujah" sounds like the midway point between that type of aggression and the anthemic might of their 2010s material.

It's got a sugary, nursery rhyme-like refrain that gets sliced in half by a massive, axe-swinging groove, and vocalists Spencer Chamberlain and Aaron Gillespie sound hungry and frenetic as hell. "Brace yourself, we're not dreaming, this is hell," are the grim — and highly topical — words they repeat with a whole choir's worth of singers behind them.

It's badass. Listen above via YouTube.

"I think the song is one of the more powerful songs on the album for a myriad of reasons," guitarist Tim McTague commented. "But sharing a night of beers and stories with a handful of the people you love, unpacking a ton of heady concepts and recording a choir really put an exclamation point on the song for me. It's dark, beautiful, haunting and heavy all at the same time. That's what Underoath does best in my opinion."

Voyeurist will arrive January 14th via Fearless Records. Revolver has an exclusive "gold static" vinyl variant that's limited to just 350 copies. They're going to sell out fast, so order yours now before they're gone.

Underoath Voyeurist 1018x1018

Voyeurist track listing:
"Damn Excuses"
"I'm Pretty Sure I'm Out of Luck and Have No Friends"
"Cycle" ft. Ghostemane
"(No Oasis)"
"Take A Breath"
"We're All Gonna Die"