Hear Volbeat Conjure Ghosts on New Song "Shotgun Blues" | Revolver

Hear Volbeat Conjure Ghosts on New Song "Shotgun Blues"

Danish metal rockabillies releasing new album 'Servant of the Mind' later this year

Revolver has teamed with Volbeat for a 2LP vinyl variant of their new album Servant of the Mind on "opaque yellow" wax. Only 400 were made — order yours before they're gone!

Last week, Danish metal rockabillies Volbeat announced a 2022 co-headlining tour with Ghost, so we thought they were up to something — and now we know for sure. The band are releasing a new album called Servant of the Mind on December 3rd, marking their eighth album overall and first since 2019's Rewind, Replay, Rebound

The two singles they released back in June, "Wait a Minute My Girl" and "Dagen Før," made it into the 13-song track list, and so did the brand new song they've unveiled today, "Shotgun Blues." 

The track has all of the trappings of Volbeat's signature sound — retro rock & roll with a heavy metal twist — and it features frontman Michael Poulsen singing about the restless spirits he recently encountered when he moved into a new house. It adds a ghastly flair to the band's charming camp. Listen above via YouTube. 

"Every time you move into a house, you bring dead people with you," Poulsen said. "Weird stuff happens when I move into a [new] house … it's very otherworldly.

Servant of the Mind is out December 3rd and is now available for pre-order in numerous formats. Revolver has an exclusive 2LP vinyl yellow vinyl variant that's limited to 400 copies worldwide. Order yours now before they're gone! 

Volbeat Servant of the Mind admat

Servant of the Mind track listing:
"Temple of Ekur"
"Wait A Minute My Girl"
"The Sacred Stones"
"Shotgun Blues"
"The Devil Rages On"
"Say No More"
"Heaven's Descent"
"Dagen Før (feat. Stine Bramsen)"
"The Passenger"
"Step Into Light"
"Lasse's Birgitta"