K.K.'s Priest: Hear Ripping First Song "Hellfire Thunderbolt" | Revolver

K.K.'s Priest: Hear Ripping First Song "Hellfire Thunderbolt"

New band helmed by former Judas Priest members detail debut LP, 'Sermons of the Sinner'

Earlier this week, Judas Priest's founding guitarist and former member K.K. Downing revealed that his new band K.K.'s Priest would be releasing their debut album, Sermons of the Sinner, later this year. Today, the group — also featuring ex-Priest singer Tim "Ripper" Owens, Hostile guitarist A.J. Millls, Voodoo Six bassist Tony Newton and Deathriders drummer Sean Elg — have formally announced that the record will be out on August 20th. They've also unleashed its goddamn ripper of a lead single, "Hellfire Thunderbolt." 

As was expected given the band's referential moniker, this track sits squarely in the Judas Priest universe of blazing power metal that Downing cut his teeth pioneering. It's got a pummeling thrash riff, sky-high vocals from Owens and a face-melting solo section that proves these veterans aren't here to slouch around. Check out the song and its fiery video above via YouTube. 

"We are delighted to finally be able to release our first track to the world," Downing said of "Hellfire Thunderbolt." "It gives a real flavor of the sound and showcases the amazing players I've got in this band. We can't wait for the fans to hear the record."

Speaking of the players Downing mentioned, there's already been a slight lineup change since the band formed back in 2020. Up until now, former Priest drummer Les Binks, who played with the band from 1977 to 1979, was slated to sit behind the kit, but a new press release notes that he sustained an unfortunate wrist injury and has been replaced by the aforementioned Sean Elg. However, the band noted that the 69-year-old Binks will be making special live guest appearances when the group eventually tours. 

Sermons of the Sinner is out August 20th via Ex1 Records, and pre-orders are available here. Check out the artwork and track list below. 

K.K's Priest Sermons of the Sinner artwork

Sermons of the Sinner track listing: 
"Hellfire Thunderbolt" 
"Sermons of the Sinner" 
"Sacerdote Y Diablo"
"Raise Your Fists" 
"Brothers of the Road" 
"Metal Through and Through" 
"Wild and Free" 
"Hail For the Priest" 
"Return of the Sentinel"