Hear Doom Icon Scott "Wino" Weinrich's Cover of Joy Division's "Isolation" | Revolver

Hear Doom Icon Scott "Wino" Weinrich's Cover of Joy Division's "Isolation"

Wino: "The music Joy Division made is still some of the heaviest stuff ever"
Scott wino weinrich 2020 PRESS

With a resume that includes trailblazing riff-warriors like Saint Vitus, the Obsessed, Spirit Caravan, the Hidden Hand and Shrinebuilder — not to mention collaborations with Dave Grohl, Rob Halford, Geezer Butler, Bill Ward and others — Scott "Wino" Weinrich is known as one of the major godfathers of doom metal. But he's also made his name as a solo artist, creating stirring acoustic folk music that's as heavy in its own way as his more feedback-soaked endeavors. Enter his latest solo album, Forever Gone, one of the highlights of which is a gripping unplugged cover of Joy Division's 1980 single "Isolation," an eerily apt song for our social-distancing times. Today (April 24th), Wino has teamed with Revolver to premiere his soulful, countrified rendition — hear it below.

"I have loved this song from the moment I heard it," Wino tells us. "I made a trade with one of my tenants in the early Obsessed house, Joe of Fugazi. I turned him on to [the Stooges'] Raw Power and he turned me on to Joy Division. The music they made is still some of the heaviest stuff ever. I have always been drawn to the more melancholic, darker music, and I have played this song live on acoustic from the start. This is my version."

Wino's Forever Gone will mark the launch of Ripple Music's new "Blood and Strings: The Ripple Acoustic" 12-inch vinyl series, which presents "albums of acoustic heaviness from some of the most admired names in riff-rock and metal." The LP is available for pre-order now in a variety of collectible formats including Rare Test Pressing LP, Worldwide Edition Classic Black Vinyl LP, Limited Edition Splatter Vinyl LP and Limited Edition Galaxy Vinyl LP. See the full track listing below.

Forever Gone track listing:
1. Forever Gone
2. Taken
3. The Song's at the Bottom of the Bottle
4. No Wrong
5. Dark Ravine
6. Dead Yesterday
7. You're So Fine
8. Crystal Madonna
9. Lavender and Sage
10. Was Is and Shall Be
11. Isolation