See Mr. Bungle's Insane Animated Video for New Single "Raping Your Mind" | Revolver

See Mr. Bungle's Insane Animated Video for New Single "Raping Your Mind"

Avant-metal weirdos offer taste of first album in 21 years

In June, Mr. Bungle unleashed their first recorded music in over 20 years, a blistering cover of the Exploited's punk-rock screed "USA." Today (August 13th), the avant-metal weirdoes — a.k.a. original members Mike Patton, Trevor Dunn and Trey Spruance plus Anthrax's Scott Ian and original Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo — have followed that up with another new single, a re-recorded version of "Raping Your Mind," a standout thrasher off Bungle's debut demo, 1986's cassette-only The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny. The new version arrives paired with a maniacal animated video created by Eric Livingston — watch and listen above.

"Raping Your Mind" V2.0 will appear on the group's forthcoming first album since 1999's California. Titled The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo, the 11-song release features cuts from the aforementioned demo as well as a reimagined cover of the S.O.D. classic "Hypocrites / Habla Español O Muere" (a.k.a. "Speak English or Die") and a take on Corrosion of Conformity's "Loss For Words." The LP's due out October 30th via Patton's own Ipecac Recordings and available for pre-order now in a slew of collectible formats and bundles.

"Recording THIS music with THESE guys was an enormous head-rush of virtuosity and surprises every day in the studio," Patton commented. "Trey's video game-esque solos, Scott's bionic right hand and cyborg-like precision, Dave's caveman-meets-Bobby Brady-like drum fills, Trevor's solid foundation and laser-focus to detail. There is nothing sweeter than getting your ass kicked by true comrades ... where everyone has a singular drive and mission."

Dunn added, "Recording this record felt like we were finally utilizing our Ph.Ds in Thrash Metal. All we had to do was go back to our original professors for some additional guidance and talk them into joining us. Turns out we were A+ students. We even went for extra credit by revisiting some tunes that we'd given up on back in the day. It was less like a trip of nostalgia and more like the refining of an original, worthy document. We were haunted for 35 years by the fact that this music wasn't given it's due respect. Now we can die."


The Raging Wrath of the Easter Bunny Demo track list:
1.    Grizzly Adams
2.    Anarchy Up Your Anus
3.    Raping Your Mind
4.    Hypocrites / Habla Español O Muere
5.    Bungle Grind
6.    Methematics
7.    Eracist
8.    Spreading the Thighs of Death
9.    Loss for Words
10.    Glutton for Punishment
11.    Sudden Death