Slipknot Detail New Album 'We Are Not Your Kind,' Reveal Cover Art, Track List | Revolver

Slipknot Detail New Album 'We Are Not Your Kind,' Reveal Cover Art, Track List

Highly anticipated sixth LP led by first single "Unsainted"
SLIPKNOT 2019 PRESS USE THIS ONE, Alexandria Crahan Conway
photograph by Alexandria Crahan Conway

Iowan masked metal juggernaut Slipknot have announced the details of their long-awaited sixth album, We Are Not Your Kind, which will be released August 9th on Roadrunner Records. You can see the cover art and track listing below. The group has also dropped the LP's lead single "Unsainted," which is available at all DSPs, along with the song's M. Shawn Crahan–directed music video, which can be viewed above. We Are Not Your Kind is available for pre-order now, with exclusive bundles available at Produced by Slipknot and Greg Fidelman, the album follows up 2014's .5: The Gray Chapter, which debuted Top 5 in the official album charts of 19 countries around the world, including at No. 1 in the U.S., Japan, Australia and Russia.

The band also revealed their new masks, including Corey Taylor's, which was designed by famed horror-movie special FX legend Tom Savini, and those of bassist Alessandro "V-Man" Venturella and drummer Jay Weinberg, who have apparently graduated from generic burlap-sack head-coverings to full-fledged, individualized masks. Slipknot's lineup notably includes a mystery second percussionist, who appears in a very Hellraiser-looking getup. No word yet on his or her identity, considering that Chris Fehn was ousted from the band in March.

"This is most time we've had to write a record, and work stuff out together," guitarist Jim Root commetned. "One of my inspirations this time around was those artists that recorded full-length albums — not just songs. While the industry is moving toward singles, Slipknot wanted to make an album experience, front to back."

"These days the art we are making comes with the highest reward, because it's taken the most time," added Crahan. "Almost four years to create this emotion and temperature, and the reward now is nothing short of salvation."

Slipknot are set to play Jimmy Kimmel Live! tomorrow (May 17th), a performance that will air on ABC that night at 11:35 p.m. EST. Then, on June 7th, the band will hit the road in Europe, before returning to North America on July 26th to launch the first-ever Knotfest Roadshow, with support from Volbeat, Gojira and Behemoth.

slipknot we are not your kind album cover

We Are Not Your Kind track list:
1. Insert Coin
2. Unsainted
3. Birth of the Cruel
4. Death Because of Death
5. Nero Forte
6. Critical Darling
7. Liar's Funeral
8. Red Flag
9. What's Next
10. Spiders
11. Orphan
12. My Pain
13. Not Long for This World
14. Solway Firth