Sumac Announce New Album 'Love in Shadow,' Tease Music in Preview Video | Revolver

Sumac Announce New Album 'Love in Shadow,' Tease Music in Preview Video

Aaron Turner and Co.'s four-song LP coming September 21st via Thrill Jockey records

Hot on the heels of ISIS announcing their one-off reunion under the name Celestial in honor of Caleb Scofield's memory, Sumac — Aaron Turner (ISIS, Old Man Gloom, Mamiffer), Nick Yacyshyn (Baptists, Erosion) and Brian Cook (Russian Circles) — have announced their new album Love in Shadow.

The record comes out September 21st on Thrill Jockey records, and along with the announcement the band has revealed some of the new music via a teaser video of them tracking the record. It's a 36-second clip of the group jamming out in the studio, and although clearly it only gives you the tiniest window into what they have planned, it still sounds pretty damn good. Love in Shadow was recorded with none other than Converge's Kurt Ballou at his recording studio God City.

"Since many of the surface level aspects of our being are often used as divisive tools to separate/alienate us from one another," Turner says of the record's themes, "the intent here is reveal that at our base level all humans desire and need to be loved and accepted for who they are, for just being."

Pre-order the album here


SUMAC, Love In Shadow track listing:
1.  The Task
2.  Attis' Blade
3.  Arcing Silver
4.  Ecstasy of Unbecoming