System of a Down's Serj Tankian Announces "Completely Different" New EP 'Perplex Cities' | Revolver

System of a Down's Serj Tankian Announces "Completely Different" New EP 'Perplex Cities'

Singer shares first single "Pop Imperialism" on virtual reality app Arloopa
serj TANKIAN shinn 2021 crop, Travis Shinn
photograph by Travis Shinn

Serj Tankian has been on a musical tear lately. Last year, the System of a Down singer released a new five-song solo EP called Elasticity and a 24-minute classical piano concerto called "Disarming Time," and earlier this year he unveiled a live album called Live at Leeds. But he's not stopping there.

Today (September 19th), Tankian has announced another new solo EP called Perplex Cities that's due out next month, and the multi-instrumentalist describes its sound — previewed on the lead single, "Pop Imperialism" — as entirely distinct from anything he's done previously. 

"This whole collection of songs within Perplex Cities is a completely different sound than what I've done before," Tankian said in a press release. "More electronic, subtle and deeper in terms of its layers of presentation musically. Perplex Cities gives off an aura that is unique and unlike my previous releases".

However, to actually hear the project's first taste, fans have to download the Arloopa virtual reality app, scan the QR code here, and watch a virtual version of Tankian introduce "Pop Imperialism" before the song plays. It's not super difficult, and we can tell you from listening that the track does indeed have a different feel than Tankian's rock and metal-oriented material. Lots of sleek electronic grooves, austere percussion, free-wheeling pianos and Tankian's unmistakable voice carrying the song's prescient politics.

Every song on the EP will be released one at a time throughout the next month on Arloopa, but the whole project will be available on streaming platforms October 21st. Pre-save it here and see the cover art and track listing below, as well as a how-to video for accessing "Pop Imperialism" today.

Perplex Cities Serj Tankian cover art

Perplex Cities track listing: 
Pop Imperialism
The Race
I Spoke Up
Rumi Loves His Cars
Forgive Me Father