Times of Grace: Hear Killswitch Engage Side Project's First Song in 10 Years | Revolver

Times of Grace: Hear Killswitch Engage Side Project's First Song in 10 Years

Jesse Leach and Adam Dutkiewicz offer up "The Burden of Belief"

Get Times of Grace's new album, Songs of Loss and Separation, on vinyl, along with an exclusive signed lithograph, via our shop.

Times of Grace are back. The side project of Killswitch Engage members Adam Dutkiewicz and Jesse Leach are returning after 10 years with their sophomore album, Songs of Loss and Separation. The full thing arrives July 16th via Wicked Good Records, but they're giving us all a taste today (May 21st) with a new song called "The Burden of Belief."

Unlike the thunderous metalcore they make in Killswitch Engage, Times of Grace is Dutkiewicz and Leach's opportunity to explore a softer, more intimate style of hard rock. Their 2011 debut, The Hymn of a Broken Man, featured numerous heavy tracks, but "The Burden of Belief" is a slow-burning ballad that gradually builds to an emotionally powerful climax. Listen above via YouTube.

"This song is the spark of the oncoming fire," Leach said of "The Burden of Belief." "It foreshadows the journey of this album. This song is an unveiling of who we, Times of Grace, have become after all of these years. This is a testimony of falling apart, losing faith, letting go, and the desire to kill and purge the past. It is the unraveling, the catharsis and the rebirth."

Dutkiewicz added, "It almost feels strange finally releasing the songs on this record, especially this one. I started writing this song over 10 years ago, so it's been around for quite some time. I really hope you guys dig it, and I hope we will get the opportunity to play it for you guys live someday."

Vinyl copies of Songs of Loss and Separation, including a Revolver-exclusive signed lithograph, are currently available for pre-order in our shop. Check out the artwork and tracklist below.

Songs of Loss and Separation track listing
"The Burden of Belief"
"Mend You"
"Far From Heavenless"
"Bleed Me"
"To Carry the Weight"