Times of Grace: Hear Killswitch Members Go Post-Metal on New Song "Medusa" | Revolver

Times of Grace: Hear Killswitch Members Go Post-Metal on New Song "Medusa"

Jesse Leach and Adam D offer second single off 'Songs of Loss and Separation'

Get Times of Grace's new album, Songs of Loss and Separation, on vinyl, along with an exclusive signed lithograph, via our shop.

In May, Times of Grace — the side project of Killswitch Engage members Adam Dutkiewicz and Jesse Leach — resurfaced with their first song in 10 years, a slow-burning ballad called "The Burden of Belief." Now, they're back with another new cut, "Medusa." This latest single also takes its time, but it hits harder, at times evoking Alice in Chains by way of Neurosis. The single arrives paired with a striking music video directed by former As I Lay Dying guitarist Nick Hipa. Watch and listen above.

"'Medusa' is one of the heavier tracks on the record," Dutkiewicz commented. "It definitely keeps within the theme of the record since it's about a broken/abusive relationship. We hope you guys dig it."

Leach added, "'Medusa' is about betrayal, abuse, and deceit. It's a story about the dark side of the soul and the struggle to tear away from those who feed off of your heart. When faced with these types of people and situations, there is a battle to not allow it to destroy a part of your soul and change you. This song is a testimony of that internal warfare of killing of the beast and taming the demons that remain in the aftermath. It's about finding a way to keep your heart and your spirit alive after being broken and beaten down."

"Both "Medusa" and "The Burden of Belief" are taken from Times of Grace's upcoming sophomore album, Songs of Loss and Separation. The follow-up to the group's 2011 debut, The Hymn of a Broken Man, the new LP is due out July 16th via the band's own Wicked Good Records.

Vinyl copies of Songs of Loss and Separation, including a Revolver-exclusive signed lithograph, are currently available for pre-order in our shop. Check out the artwork and tracklist below.