Vinyl Me, Please Annnounces Limited-Edition Metal Blade Vinyl Box Set | Revolver

Vinyl Me, Please Annnounces Limited-Edition Metal Blade Vinyl Box Set

Featuring King Diamond, Cannibal Corpse, GWAR and more
vmp metal blade box set 2021 product shot

Vinyl Me, Please (VMP), in partnership with Revolver, has announced VMP Anthology: The Story of Metal Blade, a limited-edition immersive box set that charts the trailblazing journey of Metal Blade Records. This commemorative Anthology charts the evolution of the iconic record label and of metal at large through the decades across eight hand-picked albums, as well as deluxe liner notes, a photo booklet and a podcast series featuring Metal Blade founder, Brian Slagel, and artists including King Diamond, Cannibal Corpse and GWAR. VMP Anthology: The Story of Metal Blade is available for order now.

"In the Eighties, when Brian Slagel released Metal Massacre — the inaugural Metal Blade compilation that featured a little local band called Metallica — he altered the course of music history as we know it. So, there was a resounding 'hell yes' from the VMP team to partner with Metal Blade to release our first-ever heavy-music Anthology," said Courtney Catagnus, Sr Director, Business Development & Partnerships, VMP. "In true Anthology form, we brought in the connoisseurs of the genre to guide us through the history of the label as told through these eight key albums from Metal Blade with guidance from legendary magazine Revolver. We're so proud to bring you this next chapter in our Anthology series and can't wait to dive in together to unpack the rich history and influence of Metal Blade."

VMP Anthology: The Story of Metal Blade is an eight-album, nine-disc set on 180g two-colored splatter vinyl spanning Metal Blade Records' history, from the label's scrappy Eighties to its chart-topping '10s. The accompanying five-episode podcast series features Slagel and members of  the included bands to guide listeners on a four-week journey through the hard-hitting albums. Fans will also get a bonus Metal Blade Records axe patch. The set is limited to 1,000 pressings so get yours before they're gone!

Album List:
1. Omen — Warning of Danger (1985)
2. Fates Warning — The Spectre Within (1985)
3. GWAR — America Must Be Destroyed (1991)
4. Cannibal Corpse — Butchered at Birth (1991)
5. King Diamond — Voodoo (1998)
6. The Black Dahlia Murder — Miasma (2005)
7. Amon Amarth — Twilight of the Thunder God (2008)
8. Armored Saint — La Raza (2010)