News | Page 186 | Revolver



Here is part 6 of Suicide Silence's weekly tour video updates for Revolver. Check out the video below where the band talks celebrating Eddie's birthday twice, how they ate enough tacos to kill a kindergarten class, and how they fought frozen weather and walls of death. Let us know what you think in the comments!


Over the weekend Spike TV's new show 'Lip Sync Battle,' premiered, where celebrities participate in contests against each other as they lip sync to different songs. Here's a clip from the show of Justin Bieber lip syncing to Ozzy Osbourne's "Crazy Train," dressed as the icon himself. Check it out below and let us know what you think in the comments!


U.K. rock act Skarlett Riot has teamed up with Revolver to premiere their new music video for "Rising." Check it out below and let us know what you think in the comments!

For more on Skarlett Riot, follow them on Facebook and Twitter.

Between-the-Buried-and-Me_1.jpg, Photo: Justin Reich
photograph by Photo: Justin Reich

Between the Buried and Me have premiered a new song, "Memory Palace." Check it out below and let us know what you think in the comments!

MORE BTBAM: Interview: Between the Buried and Me Give Update from the Studio

The band's new album, 'Coma Ecliptic,' will be out July 7 via Metal Blade Records.


Do you get ever get tired of shameless band promotion? Brian Storm shows all the terrible cliches in his new video, "How to Make Your Band Famous," put up by Artery Recordings. Check it out below and let us know what you think in the comments!


L.A. hardcore act Matriarchs will release their new album, 'Scandalous Jointz,' this summer via Five Rings Records. In anticipation, the band has teamed up with Revolver to premiere their new song an lyric video for "Deadman." Check it out below and let us know what you think in the comments!

For more on Matriarchs, visit their Reverbnation and Facebook.


The following article is an excerpt from Revolver's April/May 2015 issue.

by J. Bennett

Floor Jansen was at home in the Netherlands on a Saturday morning in September of 2012 when she got the call. Multiplatinum Finnish symphonic metal outfit Nightwish were on tour in the U.S. and had a serious problem: Their singer, Anette Olzon, was sick and couldn't perform. When the other members of Nightwish got tourmates Alissa White-Gluz (currently of Arch Enemy) and Elize Ryd (of Amaranthe)—both of whom were singing with Nightwish's support band, Kamelot, at the time—to fill in one night, Olzon took to the Internet to express her dismay. Two days later, Olzon was out and Jansen was in, at least for the rest of the tour. "I had to leave on Saturday, the same day they called, and the first show was on Monday," Jansen explains. "I knew their music, but I was not able to sing anything without having the lyrics. And their latest album at that point, 'Imaginaerum,' I never even heard."

With the help of lyric sheets and some very understanding fans, Jansen pulled it off. She finished the tour and was asked to do more shows before being officially asked to join as an official member—along with British uilleann pipes player and longtime Nightwish collaborator Troy Donockley—in 2013. Fast-forward to the present day, and Nightwish are set to release 'Endless Forms Most Beautiful,' their first album with Jansen at the helm. As she tells Revolver, the Dutch vocalist is so committed to her new gig that she moved to Finland and is in the process of learning the incredibly difficult Finnish language.

REVOLVER Were you surprised to get the call from Nightwish asking you to go on tour with them?
FLOOR JANSEN Yes. I had no idea what was going on with them at that time, so you can imagine—a hundred thoughts and emotions went through my system. It was such a heavy thing to do that it wasn't until the weeks after the tour, when I came home again, that I started to realize the full extent of what just happened. [Laughs] Whoa, you know. I didn't dream it.

It was a real trial by fire. You had to have lyric sheets onstage with you at first.
Of course. It's 90 minutes of music—you cannot learn it in 84 hours. It was crazy because the band was having a very high-stress situation with the previous singer. Somewhere around one o'clock local time on Sunday morning, I landed in Salt Lake City. The tour bus drove by the hotel at four in the morning, and that's when I joined the guys. Sunday was a travel day, and Monday was the first show in Seattle. Of course that show wasn't perfect, so we all were very happy that the Seattle audience was accepting of the situation. They helped me. But I had lyrics onstage and cues from the band and the audience was very cool. It was a special night, and every night it became better.

It seems like Nightwish fans have accepted you much more readily than they did your predecessor, Anette Olzon—who of course replaced the band's original singer, Tarja Turunen. Have you felt generally welcomed by the fans?
Amazingly, yes. The good thing about the sudden start is that I didn't have time to start worrying about anything other than, "Am I gonna be able to do the show?" I didn't think about if the fans would accept me or even if the band would accept me. I just thought about getting the show right. But the fans were super-receptive and friendly to our situation and to me right away. I know that Anette had a much more difficult start, but I don't know why this is. People are so dedicated to this band, you know? So a singer— the right one—really matters. People are really passionate about it. They're also passionate when they don't like it, but there's not much I can do about that case [laughs]. We have a saying in the Netherlands: "The higher the tree, the more wind you catch." But the majority of the reactions have been very positive, and that's the important thing.

For the rest, pick up our April/May 2015 issue. It is available for purchase in our webstore.


Halestorm have premiered their entire new album, 'Into the Wild Life,' now via Yahoo Music. Check it out and let us know what you think in the comments!

'Into the Wild Life,' is out on April 14 via Atlantic Records.

Photo-by-Colin-Farrell_1.jpeg, Photo: Colin Farrell
photograph by Photo: Colin Farrell

Stoner rock act Luna Sol will release their new album, 'Blood Moon,' on April 20 via Slush Fund Recordings. In anticipation, the band has teamed up with Revolver to premiere their new song, "Your War," which features Dizzy Reed. Check it out below and let us know what you think in the comments!

To get 'Blood Moon,' visit Slush Fund's webstore. For more on Luna Sol, follow them on Facebook and Twitter.


Oceans Ate Alaska's guitarist Jibs enjoys toying around with bartending and makes drink recipes with band themes. Check out his The Amity Affliction-inspired recipe for "Flowerbomb" below.


  • 25 ml Chase Mulberry Sloe Gin
  • 25ml Chase Elegant Gin
  • 12.5 ml Elderflower Cordial
  • 50ml Cranberry Juice
  • Shake and top with Soda
  • Garnish with edible flowers!



Oceans Ate Alaska's new album, 'Lost Isles,' is out now via Fearless Records. Check out their music video for "Vultures and Sharks" below.