Hear In Flames' Crushing New Song "Foregone: Pt. 1" | Revolver

Hear In Flames' Crushing New Song "Foregone: Pt. 1"

Swedish vets announce new melodeath-fueled album 'Foregone'

Revolver has teamed with In Flames for an exclusive white vinyl variant of their new album, Foregone. Only 300 made, so order yours now!

In Flames co-pioneered melodic death metal in the Nineties and early 2000s. Then, the Swedish band spent the last 15 years or so bouncing between different types of heavy sounds, most of which were a striking departure from their early material. Now, the stalwarts fronted by Anders Fridén have returned to the style of metal that they had, ahem, Foregone.

Following their re-signing to Nuclear Blast earlier this year (who put out all of their pivotal early records), In Flames have now announced their new record, Foregone, their 14th overall and first since 2019's I, the Mask. The heavy-as-fuck singles they released throughout 2022, "State of Slow Decay" and "The Great Deceiver," will be on there, as well as the quasi-title-track they released today, "Foregone: Pt. 1." Crank it above via YouTube.

"Going into the Foregone sessions, we wanted to make a record that was heavily guitar-driven, and that had a strong foundation between the bass and drums," Fridén said in a press release. "We still approached our songwriting the same way, as we always have, as a juxtaposition between melody and aggression. That's the DNA of our music. From the lyrical end of things, there was no shortage of inspiration to draw from, especially the concept of time.

"Humanity as a whole was forced to slow down and take breather. In that break, many of us spent time evaluating and reprioritizing. Time is a constant, but what do we do with it and how we perceive it varies. Especially now looking at where the world seems to be headed faster than ever before.

"It's crazy that after everything we are still here and on our fourteenth album. I feel that we've found a great balance between the past, the present and the future with Forgone. This is a new era of In Flames!"

Foregone is out February 10th via Nuclear Blast and is now available for pre-order in a variety of formats, including a Revolver-exclusive 2LP vinyl variant limited to 300 copies. Order yours from our shop!

Foregone track listing:
"The Beginning of All Things That Will End"
"State of Slow Decay"
"Meet Your Maker"
"Bleeding Out"
"Foregone Pt. 1"
"Foregone Pt. 2"
"Pure Light Of Mind"
"The Great Deceiver"
"In The Dark"
"A Dialogue in b Flat Minor"
"End The Transmission"