Hear Greg Puciato and Code Orange's Reba Meyers' Soaring New Duet "Lowered" | Revolver

Hear Greg Puciato and Code Orange's Reba Meyers' Soaring New Duet "Lowered"

Former Dillinger Escape Plan singer's second solo LP 'Mirrorcell' due this summer

Greg Puciato, former vocalist of the Dillinger Escape Plan and current member of Killer Be Killed, the Black Queen and Jerry Cantrell's band, has a new solo album on the way. The follow-up to his terrific 2020 opus, Child Soldier: Creator of God, is titled Mirrorcell and it's due out June 17th via Federal Prisoner, the label Puciato co-owns with A/V artist Jesse Draxler. Today, he's previewing it with a soaring lead single called "Lowered" that features a powerful vocal performance from Code Orange singer-guitarist Reba Meyers

Child Soldier was an eclectic assortment of tracks that pulled from all corners of Puciato's wide-ranging repertoire, from industrial-metal and doom to synth-pop and acoustic balladry. On "Lowered," the musician who's perhaps best known as DEP's head-walking screamer taps into the grungey side of his vocal range, dueting with Meyers' dusky sing-song in a way that's both sonically tactile and emotionally affecting. Listen above while you watch its noir-esque music video. 

"When she came to the studio we had, like, zero vocals for that song," Puciato said of the collaboration. "I had been a little unusually stuck with that one lyrically and as far as vocal phrasings and melodies. Reba and I had such an explosion of musical and personal chemistry right away, and we ended up writing and recording all of the vocals in about six hours. It was one of the purest collaborations I've ever done, in terms of feeling, just really natural and explosive. She really blew me away overall. The combined energy was instant. That song turned into something really special because of that energy."

Mirrorcell is out June 17th via Federal Prisoner and pre-orders are available now. Peep the artwork and track listing below. 

Greg Puciato Mirrorcell album art

Mirrorcell track listing: 
"In This Hell You Find Yourself"
"Reality Spiral"
"No More Lives to Go"
"Never Wanted That"
"I, Eclipse"
"Rainbows Underground"
"All Waves to Nothing"