KORN's MUNKY unveils new electronic project VENERA: Hear "Hologram" | Revolver

KORN's MUNKY unveils new electronic project VENERA: Hear "Hologram"

Featuring guest vocals and piano from Rizz of VOWWS

Revolver has teamed with Venera for an exclusive color vinyl variant of their self-titled debut. Only 300 made — order yours.

Late month, an eerie ambient-noise track, "Swarm," mysteriously hit the internet, shared via the socials of Mike Patton's record label Ipecac. Now, the band behind said cut has been unveiled: an experimental electronic project called Venera, spearheaded by none other than Korn guitarist James "Munky" Shaffer.

The new comes along with a second single, the haunting "Hologram," which arrived today (August 16th) accompanied by a mesmerizing music video directed by EFFIXX, with 3D design by Colombian artist Samanta Garcia. The song features guest vocals and piano by Rizz of VOWWS. Watch and listen above.

"'Hologram' emerged quickly from our first session together," Munky commented in a joint statement with his Venera bandmate, Atlanta-based composer/filmmaker Chris Hunt. "A nearly unchanging drum machine pattern nested in warbling guitars. We don't interact much with holograms but they seem to offer an image of an alluring emptiness and light, which resonates well with the universe we are driven to explore."

Venera's debut LP is due out on October 13th via Ipecac Recordings and up for pre-order now in an array of collectible formats. These include a limited-edition "skull gold" vinyl colorway exclusively available at Revolver's shop, as well as that of our sister brand BrooklynVegan. Order yours now.

Venera tracklist:
1. Alignment
2. Erosion (ft. Deantoni Parks)
3. Ochre (ft. HEALTH)
4. Swarm
5. Disintegration (ft. Deantoni Parks)
6. Hologram (ft. VOWWS)
7. Surrender
8. Triangle (ft. Alain Johannes)
9. Helium