Hear Avant-Metal Trio Imperial Triumphant's Insane New Song "Rotted Futures" | Page 2 | Revolver

Hear Avant-Metal Trio Imperial Triumphant's Insane New Song "Rotted Futures"

Upcoming album 'Alphaville' made in collaboration with Meshuggah, Mr. Bungle members

Over the course of seven years, three full-lengths and two EPs, NYC avant-garde metal outfit Imperial Triumphant have stationed themselves at the cutting edge of extreme music, but with their upcoming fourth album, Alphaville, the group are set to take their sound and vision next level. The trio enlisted a host of talented collaborators for the project, including Meshuggah's Tomas Haake, who plays taiko drums on the LP, and Mr. Bungle's Trey Spruance, who produced the album. Today (May 29th), the band offered up the first taste of Alphaville in the form of mind-bending lead single "Rotted Futures." Blast it above.

"No one knows what the future shall look like," the group said in a joint statement. "Well, some might know the shape of things to come. Some will bet on it. Perhaps we're living it. Perhaps it will be quite different. If we had a special looking glass that could reveal millennia of repeated timelines we might observe big dreams for a bright future, built upon systemic shifts that eventually fall. Behold the future!"

Alphaville is due out on July 31st via Century Media and is available for pre-order now in an array of formats. Those formats include a Revolver-exclusive "Ivory Towers" (white) vinyl 2LP collector's edition, strictly limited to 300 copies. The 2LP comes in a special gatefold sleeve with a four-page booklet and poster and features art by renowned artist and illustrator Zbigniew M. Bielak (Ghost, Body Count). The LP also offers a special novelty: Side D, which features two bonus covers, of Voivod and the Residents, is pressed with a rare "double-groove" feature, i.e. there are two grooves cut side-by-side, so that the listener plays the one cover version or the other — depending on where exactly the needle is placed. Pre-order yours now before they're gone!

Alphaville "Ivory Towers" collector's edition track listing:
Side A
1. Rotted Futures
2. Excelsior
3. City Swine
Side B
4. Atomic Age
5. Transmission to Mercury
Side C
6. Alphaville
7. The Greater Good
Side D  
8. Experiment (Voivod cover)
9. Happy Home (The Residents cover)