T-PAIN to cover BLACK SABBATH on upcoming album | Revolver

T-PAIN to cover BLACK SABBATH on upcoming album

Auto-tune pioneer will be taking on "War Pigs"
T-Pain Black Sabbath split 1600x900, Paras Griffin/Getty Images
T-Pain photo by Paras Griffin/Getty Images

T-Pain is going metal — kind of. The rapper, singer and auto-tune pioneer — who became famous in the late 2000s for coating his voice in the garish robot effect that would soon become ubiquitous in all corners of pop and rap music — has announced that he'll be covering Black Sabbath on an upcoming covers album.

And no, the he didn't choose to put his own spin on "Iron Man," which would've made sense given the iconic android voice (an early precursor to auto-tune) that introduces the song. Instead, T-Pain will be covering "War Pigs," and it actually doesn't sound like there'll be any auto-tune whatsoever on his version of the Paranoid standout. The album is said to showcase "the power of his natural voice," according to a press release.

"This covers album has been years in the making," T-Pain said in a statement. "I started recording this right after I won the Masked Singer. It got put on hold for a bit but now that I'm independent, I'm able to do whatever I want to do through Nappy Boy Entertainment and this is something I've felt strongly about for a long time."

"These songs are not what you'd expect when you hear that T-Pain is doing a covers album," he added. "And that is what I think is cool about it."

The record will be titled On Top of the Covers, and in addition to Sabbath, T-Pain will be reinterpreting songs by Journey, Sam Smith, Frank Sinatra, Chris Stapleton and more. It's out March 17th and you can check out the tracklist below.

On the Top of the Covers tracklist:
1. A Change Is Gonna Come (Sam Cooke)
2. Don't Stop Believin' (Journey)
3. Sharing the Night Together (Dr. Hook)
4. Stay With Me (Sam Smith)
5. Tennessee Whiskey (Chris Stapleton)
6. That's Life feat. NandoSTL (Frank Sinatra)
7. War Pigs (Black Sabbath)