TOOL's Justin Chancellor: Hear MTVOID's haunting new song "MaBeLu" | Revolver

TOOL's Justin Chancellor: Hear MTVOID's haunting new song "MaBeLu"

Long-awaited 'Matter's Knot Pt. 1' album due this fall

Revolver has teamed with MTVoid for an exclusive colored vinyl variant of their new album, Matter's Knot Pt. 1. Only 200 made — order yours.

In January 2022, Tool bassist Justin Chancellor announced Matter's Knot, the sophomore album from MTVoid, his experimental ambient side project with Sweet Noise's Piotr "Glaca" Mohamed. Then in July, the duo released the trippy "Scanner Void" featuring Death Grips producer Andy Morin. Since then, silence.

Today (September 6th), MTVoid finally resurfaced — with an eerie, throbbing new song, "MaBeLu," and its glitchy music video complete with VFX by Les Claypool's son Cage. The group also revealed the release details for Matter's Knot, which, it turns out, is just the first installment in a greater whole.

Chancellor commented: "Matter's Knot Pt. 1 is our pan-dynamic tapestry of sound and thought, twisted together and pulled taut, a connection of ides remotely fused between Los Angeles, California, and Swarzędz, Poland."

Formed in 2008, MTVoid was initially stylized as M.T.void before taking its current form. The duo released their debut LP, the avant-garde Nothing's Matter, then went dormant for nearly 10 years until the announcement of Matter's Knot in early 2022.

In addition to Morin, the forthcoming album features Aric Improta (Night Verses, ex-Fever 333) on "Propagator" and Isabel Munoz-Newsome (Pumarosa) on "Drop-Out."

Matter's Knot Pt. 1 is due out November 10th and available for pre-order in an array of collectible formats, including a Revolver-exclusive "metallic swirl" vinyl colorway, limited to 200 worldwide. The variant comes with a CD of the album plus a two-sided 24" x 36" poster. Order yours now!

Matter's Knot Pt. 1 tracklisting:
1. Death Survives
2. Lilt
3. Propagator
4. Drop-Out
5. Scanner Void
6. MaBeLu
7. Magmaficent